uniE610 Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

UASC Home

LGBTQ+ History Project

The Shippensburg University Archives, Pride Center, and Dr. Steve Burg of the History & Philosophy Department are collaborating to collect stories and memorabilia, which will become part of the archives' permanent collection. These additions will help our university better understand, and tell the story of, our campus LGBTQ+ community. We are looking for: personal stories, photos, scrapbooks, letters, emails, diaries, videos, student club documents (minutes, bylaws, etc.), and more.

You may submit personal stories and digital photos, videos, or documents through this form:

LGBTQ+ History Project Submission Form

If you have physical items you would like to donate to the Archives (scrapbooks, photos, etc.) please contact University Archivist Christy Fic (cmfic@ship.edu).

 

View a historical timeline of LGBTQ+ events at Shippensburg (compiled by Dr. Steve Burg's HIS460 graduate students in Spring 2021):

Out of the Archives: 50+ Years of LGBTQ+ History at Shippensburg University

COVID-19 Digital Archives

In the wake of the COVID-19 pandemic, Shippensburg University closed on-campus services and transitioned to virtual instruction for the second half of the spring 2020 semester. Most students were required to move off-campus, faculty retooled courses for remote instruction, staff transitioned to working from home, and administrators debated the appropriate course of action in order to ensure the well-being of our community.

This site, published by Shippensburg University Archives & Special Collections, is intended to document how COVID-19 impacted the lives of SU community members. While the Archives regularly collects records that document the decisions and actions of university administration and staff in their official capacity, we need the help of students, faculty, staff, alumni, friends, and family. In order to fully understand the consequences of this pandemic on our university, we're calling on you to contribute your stories, photos, and videos to the

Shippensburg University COVID-19 Community Response Collection