Criminal Justice and Juvenile Justice

This is one of the most important sources of data on a wide range of political and social science topics, including criminal justice. It includes reports with corresponding datasets for downloading, as well as a separate search feature for identifying data-related literature (journal articles, magazines, books, etc.) First Step: Create an account using your ship.edu email.

This site provides access to a criminal justice subset of the material in ICPSR. It includes reports with corresponding datasets for downloading, as well as a separate search feature for identifying data-related literature (journal articles, magazines, books, etc.). Links above the search results display allow for easy searching of the whole ICPSR database.

This freely accessible database is a comprehensive source for criminal justice publications, including library abstracts for 225,000+ journal articles, research reports, data sets, and government publications. Since 2014, journal articles are largely excluded, with the focus on materials produced, funded, and sponsored by the U.S. Dept. of Justice. Most entries include links to the full text of reports and data sets. Search for the full text of journal article and book titles in the Ship Discovery Service.

The most comprehensive site for accessing data sets and analysis tools for criminal justice research. Brings together data sets from all across the range of government agencies.

The National Institute of Justice (NIJ) is "the research, development and evaluation agency of the U.S. Department of Justice" --website. This site provides a virtual, comprehensive online encyclopedia to criminal justice issues. Searching can be by topic, browsing, and thorough cross-referencing throughout the entries. An excellent way to get introduced to current research on criminal justice topics.

The official source of statistics on U.S. death rates and causes of death. Includes homicide statistics.

This website is a key source for tracking criminal justice statistics, research, and programs at the state level. It includes ISAR - the Infobase of State Activities & Research for searching for programs and reports.

This convenient compendium of statistics is prepared from data at the Bureau of Justice Statistics. Unfortunately, ongoing funding for this source is ending August 2012.

The Uniform Crime Reports are the system used by the FBI to gather crime statistics from some 17,000 law enforcement agencies across the U.S. These are compilied and published annually in publications such as Crime in the United States - which can be access from this website. UCR data can also be used directly through a new tool called UCR Data Online

This series of annual reports from the Bureau of Justice Statistics (BJS) is the most comprehensive source of data on victims of crime.

This is the major public census data tool from the Census Bureau. It replaces American Factfinder.