Library: Criminal Justice and Juvenile Justice: Background Info

Criminal Justice and Law Encyclopedias

General

Sage Reference and Academic Books (Sage Knowledge)
Sage Knowledge is our most important collection of reference sources in social science fields. In its Criminology and Criminal Justice discipline category, it includes 50+ reference handbooks and encyclopedias and 300+ ebooks.

21st Century Criminology: A Reference Handbook (Sage Knowledge)
One of the most useful comprehensive background sources for criminal justice research. It is organized in six sections: The Discipline of Criminology; Correlates of Crime and Victimization; Theories of Crime and Justice; Measurement and Research in Criminology; Types of Crime; and Criminology and the Justice System. Each sections features many chapter length articles with extensive bibliography. Be sure to consult more recent items, of which many are listed below, to update information.
Encyclopedia of Crime and Justice (Gale Ebooks)
An interdisciplinary source that addresses not only law but also sociology, psychology, history and economics. Entries vary widely from abortion to rape and from family violence to wiretapping, offering a mirror of issues dominating today's headlines.

more... less...

(GVRL)
Encyclopedia of Crime and Punishment (Sage Knowledge)
Crime and Punishment: Essential Primary Resources (Gale Ebooks)

Key Issues in Crime and Justice Series

This series forms the equivalent of a five volume comprehensive handbook to criminal justice. Each volume features a series of extensive articles on the major topics/issues with extensive bibliographies of relevant studies and resources.

Wiley Handbooks in Criminology and Criminal Justice

These thirteen handbooks, taken together, form a rather comprehensive handbook to criminology and criminal justice. They feature lengthy essays on major topics with extensive documentation.

International

Specialized

Criminal Justice Research

The SAGE Handbook of Criminological Research Methods
Encyclopedia of Criminological Theory
Criminological Research: Understanding Qualitative Methods (Sage Knowledge)
Criminological Ethnography: An Introduction (Sage Knowledge)
Conducting Research in Juvenile and Criminal Justice Settings (Oxford University Press)
Although written from a social work perspective, this book contains helpful guidance about juvenile justice research and extensive documentation.

American Law

Gale Encyclopedia of American Law - 3rd ed. (Gale Ebooks)
Third edition of the standard encyclopedia of American law (formerly West's). This encyclopedia includes some 5,000 topical articles in 10 volumes, with two additional vols. of major case materials, a vol. of additional primary documents and an index vol.
Oxford Companion to American Law
Encyclopedia of the American Constitution
This extensive online version of a six volume print encyclopedia is a excellent starting point for research related to the U.S. Constitution. It includes lengthy essays on major constitutional topics, hundreds of important cases, and includes a substantial number of biographical articles.
Encyclopedia of the Supreme Court of the United States.
Focuses on the substance of American law, the processes that produce its legal principles, and the history of the Supreme Court, from its creation to the present. Overview essays address the history of such topics as citizenship, due process, Native Americans, racism, and contraception, emphasizing the social context of each and the social and political pressures that shaped interpretation.

Other Related Fields

21st Century Sociology: A Reference Handbook
Provides a concise overview of modern sociology. Focuses on the corpus of knowledge garnered in traditional areas of sociological inquiry, as well as documents the general orientation of the newer and currently emerging areas of sociological inquiry.

more... less...

(GVRL)
Encyclopedia of Social Problems
Provides as comprehensive an approach as possible to this multifaceted field, utilizing experts from numerous disciplines. These subject areas include anthropology, biology, business, chemistry, communications, criminal justice, demography, economics, education, environmental studies, geography, health, history, languages, political science, psychology, social work, sociology, and women's studies.
Encyclopedia of Social Psychology
Includes numerous entries chosen by a diverse team of experts to comprise an exhaustive list of the most important concepts in social psychology.
Entries provide brief, clear explanations to the vast number of ideas and concepts that make up the intellectual and scientific content in the area of social psychology.

more... less...

(GVRL)
Encyclopedia of Social Work
Contains 400 subject entries and 200 brief biographies of key figures in the history of social work. Includes demographic changes from immigration, technology, the implications of managed care, faith-based assistance, evidence-based practice, gerontology, and trauma and disaster. Includes a comprehensive index and topical outline.

more... less...

(ORO)
Encyclopedia of Social Theory
Reference source for anyone interested in the roots of contemporary social theory.
Examines the global landscape of all the key theories and the theorists behind them, presenting them in the context needed to understand their strengths and weaknesses.

more... less...

(GVRL)

Criminal Justice and Juvenile Justice