Library: Criminal Justice and Juvenile Justice: Databases

Criminal Justice Databases

Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to some 700,000+ articles in academic journals and professional magazines in criminal justice and related fields. Full text is immediately available for almost 80% of the articles.
Access from on campus or off campus with Ship ID.
Criminal Justice Database (ProQuest)
This extensive criminal justice database includes 1/2 million scholarly journal articles, as well as trade journals, news sources, and reports. It also includes a substantial full-text collection of dissertation and theses. The comprehensive criminal justice researcher will want to search this database along with Criminal Justice Abstracts.

National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS)
This freely accessible database is a comprehensive source for criminal justice publications, including library abstracts for 225,000+ journal articles, research reports, data sets, and government publications. Since 2014, journal articles are largely excluded, with the focus on materials produced, funded, and sponsored by the U.S. Dept. of Justice. Most entries include links to the full text of reports and data sets. Search for the full text of journal article and book titles in the Ship Discovery Service.

SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covers scholarly publications in sociology, social work, criminal justice, and related fields. Contains >2.5 million articles and other materials (70% in full text) with deep coverage from 1960 and some back to 1882.
Access from on campus or off campus with Ship ID.
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive index to the literature of psychology and related fields, including entries for journal articles, books, dissertations, and other research materials. It indexes some 4.5 million sources, almost 50% of which are available in electronic or print full-text in our library. It includes extensive coverage of psychological topics and criminal justice or juvenile delinquency.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline is a premier online database containing more than 178 million pages and 270,000 titles of historical and government documents in a fully searchable, image-based format. HeinOnline bridges an important research gap by providing comprehensive coverage from inception of more than 2,700 law-related periodicals. In addition to its vast collection of academic journals, HeinOnline contains the entire Congressional Record, Federal Register, and Code of Federal Regulations, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, and entire databases dedicated to treaties, constitutions, case law, world trials, classic treatises, international trade, foreign relations, U.S. Presidents, and much more.
Westlaw This link opens in a new window
Westlaw is our major legal database that includes secondary and primary legal sources. It contains statutes, codes, arbitrations, and case law. Westlaw also includes the legal encyclopedias, journals, treatises, and law reviews. In addition to legal materials, it also has extensive collections of national and state/local news sources, as well as regional business magazines.
Access from on campus or off campus with Ship ID.
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
Indexes 2.5+ million items in political science, public policy, and international relations, which were produced from 1915 to the present. Contains journal articles, books, U.S. and foreign government documents, websites, research and think tank reports, and international agency publications. The great breadth of this database is perfectly complemented by the in-depth journal coverage of Political Science Complete.
Access from on campus or off campus with Ship ID.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate is our largest single comprehensive database. It includes records for some 40 million items, with 25+ million immediately available in full-text. It covers all subject areas and includes newspapers and other news sources, general and specialized magazines, and scholarly journals. It is an excellent starting place for most undergraduate research.
Access from on campus or off campus with Ship ID.
Contents indexed in Ship Library Discovery Search.

Comprehensive Databases

Ship Discovery Search This link opens in a new window
Ship Discovery Search is our most comprehensive search tool. It attempts to search all of our library databases together. It brings together in one search journal articles, books and ebooks, video sources, and other research materials. It is the best place to search if you are trying to get a specific book or journal article. Subject searching in Ship Discovery should be supplemented with ProQuest Global Newstream for news coverage and used in combination with the features of specialized databases.
Access on-campus or off-campus with your ShipID
ProQuest All Databases Search This link opens in a new window
One of the most comprehensive search tools available. It includes all our ProQuest book, journal, news, video, and dissertation databases, as well as PAIS Index. It includes the complete ABI Inform Collection, and it is our most comprehensive news search. Use this as a companion tool to Ship Discovery Search.
Available on campus or off-campus with your ShipID and password.

Google Scholar
This database, freely available from Google, is one of the most important scholarly databases, especially in the natural and social sciences. It brings the power of Google to the search for academic/scholarly publications, including journal articles, books, theses and dissertations, and other research documents. Google creates this database from "academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites" -- website. It has incredibly powerful citation searching features, which enable you to easily locate sources that cite a particular document (using the "Cited by" feature) and to find similar documents which often share related citations (using the "Related Articles" feature).

When using Google Scholar off campus, be sure to set your Scholar Preferences to use the Shippensburg University proxy to access library full-text through the "Full-Text@My Library" linking feature.

Criminal Justice and Juvenile Justice

Criminal Justice Databases

Comprehensive Databases

Contact the Ezra Lehman Memorial Library