Our most comprehensive search tool. It searches simultaneously most of our library databases, including all our EBSCO databases and the library catalog, among others. Use Ship Discovery Search to locate all our books, ebooks, and videos, as well as our magazine and journal articles in all databases. It provides additional access to news articles and dissertations. Use it in combination with ProQuest All Databases Search.
Academic Search Ultimate is our largest single comprehensive database. It includes records for some 40 million items, with 25+ million immediately available in full-text. It covers all subject areas and includes newspapers and other news sources, general and specialized magazines, and scholarly journals. It is an excellent starting place for most undergraduate research.
Access from on campus or off campus with Ship ID.
Contents indexed in Ship Library Discovery Search.
JSTOR is our most comprehensive interdisciplinary archive of scholarly journal articles. It includes the full-run of some 4,000 journals, from the journal's first issue up until the most recent 3-5 years (typically). Covers a wide variety of subjects, including the humanities, social sciences, natural sciences and mathematics, as well as extensive area studies collections and applied fields, such as business and criminal justice.
Covers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, etc. Contains current full text scholarly journals which cover these fields and a significant collection of recent scholarly books.
Sage Premier is one of our largest journal archives featuring 1000+ scholarly journals and over 2 million articles. The major areas covered are the social and behavioral sciences, but it also includes strong offerings in Health Sciences, Life & Biomedical Sciences, Materials Science & Engineering, and the Humanities.
This database, for which we have trial access through March 13, includes an extensive collection of primary and secondary literature related to topics in English Literature and beyond.
Using Scholarly Articles to Find Primary Source Material
Scholarly periodicals in history and the humanities are primarily secondary sources, but periodical databases can provide both direct and indirect primary source material.
Direct access to primary sources includes:
In fields like the natural and social sciences, much of the body of scholarly periodicals is focussed on the publication of original research - in these fields, research journal articles are often considered primary sources, yet in the humanities and history, this is not typically the case.
Periodical articles can be considered primary sources when you are researching a modern author who has written articles in periodicals.
Historical journals sometimes publish primary sources in their publications, such as letters and diaries.
Non-textual primary sources, such as photographs, and photographs and drawings of artifacts, archeological sites, etc.
Indirect access to primary sources:
Journal articles contain some of the most in-depth discussion of sources. This can take place in the text, but often in the footnotes or endnotes.
Includes several databases that index extensive amounts of research on Africa. Select a country, or choose to search all the databases with advanced options. Use links to WorldCat and Check Availability to see if Shippensburg has access to the article. If unavailable through Lehman, request via interlibrary loan (ILLiad).
The Handbook is a bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities.
This freely accessible database, produced by the National Library of Israel, indexes a very large collection of articles (350,000+) found in journals and edited book collections. At SU, this serves as the fundamental starting point for research on Jewish topics.
Art & Architecture Source covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. Providing over 600 full-text journals, more than 220 full-text books, and a collection of over 63,000 images, it is designed for use by a diverse audience, including art scholars, artists, designers, students and general researchers.
Includes research materials about the Bible, ancient Judaism through the first century, and earliest Christianity. Also includes relevant materials on the Ancient Near Eastern and Graeco Roman worlds.
An extensive index to research materials on the Classical World, including related materials on ancient near easterns studies and religion. It is a Table of Contents service rather than a fully indexed database, but does provide important coverage of the ancient world.
