HIS397 - Seminar in Comparative History

This database provides access to the full text of all volumes in the authoritative Cambridge Histories series. Volumes are grouped into topics, making it easy to search and browse through an array of historical subject areas. The extensive bibiographies and footnotes throughout enhance the value of this source.

A five- volume encyclopedia of world history, covering 250,000 years of human history. Compiles knowledge from paleoanthropology, archaeology, geology, and geography. Emphasis on cultural contact and social change over time and place. Overviews of core topics. Extensive coverage of arts, literature, religion, and science. Biographies of 100 leaders who shaped world history.

Essays by subject experts treat concepts and doctrines, policymaking, commerce and science, human rights and arms control, with specific articles on topics ranging from anti-imperialism to environmental diplomacy, from refugee policies to terrorism and countermeasures.
Also includes a chronology.

A five- volume encyclopedia of world history, covering 250,000 years of human history. Compiles knowledge from paleoanthropology, archaeology, geology, and geography. Emphasis on cultural contact and social change over time and place. Overviews of core topics. Extensive coverage of arts, literature, religion, and science. Biographies of 100 leaders who shaped world history.

Provides both scholars and non-specialists with a comprehensive source of reference about the classical world. Over 6,200 entries that provide coverage of Greek and Roman history, literature, myth, religion, linguistics, philosophy, law, science, art and archaeology, and topics in near eastern studies and late antiquity.

This online encyclopedia is an excellent multivolume encyclopedia to the Ancient Classical world. Provides extensive overviews to all aspects of history and cultural life, with excellent selective bibliographies.

This print encyclopedia is a comprehensive starting point for research on the Middle Ages.

A collaborative work of over 600 scholars from more than forty countries. Provides 3,000 concise and detailed articles on all aspects of the period from the fifth to the fifteenth century. Explores art, architecture, religion, law, science, language, philosophy, and theology, as well as cultural, religious, intellectual, social and political history. Focuses on Europe and Christendom and also the rise of Islam.

With more than 5,000 entries by an international group of eminent historians, this is the standard research tool on 1,100 years of Byzantine history.
Exhaustive in its coverage, entries on patriarchy and emperors coexist with entries on surgery, musical instruments, and the baking of bread, bringing to life this vastly important culture and empire, from the 4th century to the 15th century.

This extensive, six volume print encyclopedia is an excellent starting point for research on the Renaissance.

Containing over 1,200 entries, this is the definitive source for information about the entire range of religious and social changes that altered the face of Europe in the 16th century. Covers the issues of church polity and theology as well as developments in politics, economics, demographics, art and literature.

Includes 700 articles covering the “long” Enlightenment, from 1670 to 1815.
Articles range discussions of mercantilism and democracy to the battlefield to the dissemination of ideas in salons and coffeehouses.
Coverage includes Western Europe, North America, Brazil, Iberian, Russian, Jewish, and Eastern European cultures.

Provides information about major world developments from 1750 to the present, with close attention to social, economic, cultural, and political topics. Contains articles on world events; countries; organizations; regions; ethnic groups; and themes such as social history, demography, family life, politics, economics, religion, thought, education, science and technology, and culture. Includes bibliographies, images and maps.

This is the online version of a massive, 16 volume encyclopedia to modern Europe (1450-present). It provides extensive background information on each country of Europe along with all major topics of European history and culture.

With more than 5,000 entries by an international group of eminent historians, this is the standard research tool on 1,100 years of Byzantine history.
Exhaustive in its coverage, entries on patriarchy and emperors coexist with entries on surgery, musical instruments, and the baking of bread, bringing to life this vastly important culture and empire, from the 4th century to the 15th century.

Provides a comprehensive discussion of Russia's people, politics, economics, religion, and social systems; and is designed to complement the study of comparative politics, world history, geography, literature, arts and culture and world cultures. Entries span the period from the earliest beginnings of the Russian nation to the rise and fall of the Soviet Union.

A 6-volume survey of modern Asia, defined as extending from Japan in the east to Turkey in the west, and from Kazakhstan in the north to Indonesia in the south. Presents entries covering such subjects as countries, cities, regions, natural features, religions, social issues, languages, people, events, customs, politics, and economics.

A 4-volume survey of the history, cultures, geography and religions of India from ancient times to the present day. Includes more than 600 entries, arranged alphabetically.

This is a monumental work of scholarship on the history and culture of Middle East, Caucacus, and Central and South Asia. Provides background information on life in Afghanistan, Iran & Iraq.

Covers the modern history of the Middle East and North Africa, with major sections on Colonialism and Imperialism, the World Wars, the Israeli-Palestinian conflict and the United Nations involvement in the region. Each country in the region is reviewed, detailing its population, economy and government.

Provides a comprehensive, multidisciplinary view of Latin American history and culture from prehistoric times to the present. Covers cultural issues and includes numerous biographical profiles of important figures in politics, letters and the arts.

Use the following page from another research guide for U.S. specialized encyclopedias.

This is the best starting place for research on any aspect of religion. Get a good introduction and overview to your topic and excellent suggestions for primary and secondary sources.

This comprehensive encyclopedia is the best source for beginning most research on topics related to Judaism. It provides extensive coverage of the religion, history, customs, beliefs, people, organizations, and events connected with Judaism. Article include excellent bibliographies of primary and secondary sources.

This comprehensive encyclopedia is the most important starting place for research on Islam. Written by Western scholars of Islam, it provides thorough coverage of the history, people, ideas, religion, and culture of Islam worldwide. As this is a complex scholarly source, please feel free to ask for assistance in using it.

This comprehensive dictionary (4th ed. 2022) has 6,500+ entries on Christian history, theology, liturgy, and related topics such as Biblical studies. Articles cover biographies, theological terms, historical events, creeds, major writings, countries, denominations, and religious organizations. The typical entry is several paragraphs long with 10-20 key references to primary and secondary sources. It is an excellent, authoritative starting point for most kinds of research on Christianity. The most recent edition has greatly expanded the coverage of global Christianity.

This comprehensive encyclopedia is an important starting point for any research related to Roman Catholicism, and to Christianity more broadly. It features extensive articles on the beliefs, practices, people, and history of Catholicism.

A 6-volume survey of the history of Western thought and culture, presented through 700 alphabetically arranged entries. Each entry explores the origin, cultural interpretations, and historical themes of such subjects as beauty, love, feminism, diversity, and social capital, among many others.

This is a comprehensive encyclopedia of philosophy from ancient times to the present. Although its major focus is on Western philosophy, it does provide substantial coverage for all regions of the world. It serves as an excellent starting place for most research on philosophical topics.

This comprehensive print encyclopedia is an excellent starting place for research in philosophy.

Contains over 800 entries that offer information on all topics of exploration worldwide, including advances in navigation, the discovery of the New World, polar expeditions, and the space age.
Covers navigational and marine sciences and ranges from ancient cultures through modern space exploration.