Background Sources - HIS397 - Seminar in Comparative History

War & Genocide Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Genocide and Crimes Against Humanity
This encyclopedia spans the globe to explain the issues behind crimes against humanity and human rights issues as they relate to individual countries and the world at large. It traces the history of events that qualify as genocide and crimes against humanity, profiles perpetrators and heroes, and explains international laws and law proceedings aimed at ending genocide and crimes against humanity.
Americans at War
This encyclopedia covers major American conflicts from the Colonial Wars through the War on Terrorism in the context of cultural and social events and conditions on the home front. Illustrated articles cover both biographies and topics such as civil liberties, media, politics, popular culture, religion, memory and national identity, civic celebrations, monumental art, literature, the roles of women and minorities, veterans, science and technology, humor, and music.
Europe Since 1914: Encyclopedia of the Age of War and Reconstruction
Profiling the age of war and reconstruction, this encyclopedia details European history from the Bolshevik Revolution to the European Union, linking it to the history of the rest of the world. Many transformations in the European story are covered in this easily accessible collection of about 675 illustrations and 920 articles: Europe sundered by war and genocide, Europe reconfigured after World War II and the Cold War, and much more.
The Oxford Companion to World War II
Every aspect of WWII is covered including, detailed surveys of major countries; politics and grand strategy; domestic and economic issues; resistance and intelligence services; campaigns, battles, and military operations; warfare and weapons; wartime leaders and influential people; and slogans and phrases.
The Encyclopedia of Middle East Wars: The United States in the Persian Gulf, Afghanistan, and Iraq Conflicts
Provides a comprehensive study of U.S. involvement in the modern Middle East and carefully weighs the interplay of domestic, cultural, religious, diplomatic, international, and military events.
United States Holocaust Memorial Museum Encyclopedia of Camps and Ghettos, 1933-1945
The USHMM Encyclopedia of Camps and Ghettos, 1933-1945 provides authoritative documentation of camps, ghettos, and other persecutory sites operated by the Nazi regime and its allies in a vast network that extended across the European continent and reached as far as the Soviet Union and North Africa. It is the most comprehensive resource on the Nazi camp universe, detailing the complexities of the camps and their impact on millions of inmates.

Race and Ethnicity Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Race and Racism
Examines the anthropological, sociological, historical, economic, and scientific theories of race and racism in the modem era. Delves into the historic origins of ideas of race and racism and explores their social and scientific consequences. Includes biographies of significant theorists, as well as political and social leaders and notorious racists.
Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America
Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America contains 152 original essays (about 8,000-12,000 words each) on specific minority and ethnic groups in the U.S., with an emphasis on culture (religions, holidays, customs, language) in addition to information on historical background and settlement patterns.
American Indian History
Surveys Native American history from ancient times to the twentieth century. Entries cover specific topics and incidents from a Native American perspective, including categories such as court cases and legal decisions, wars and battles, reservations and relocation, organizations, religion and missionary activities, national government and legislation, native government, treaties, and protest movements.
Latinas in the United States: A Historical Encyclopedia
A comprehensive, historical encyclopedia that covers the full range of Latina economic, political, and cultural life in the United States.
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture
Provides a comprehensive, multidisciplinary view of Latin American history and culture from prehistoric times to the present. Covers cultural issues and includes numerous biographical profiles of important figures in politics, letters and the arts.
Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History
A five-volume set and supplement covering all aspects of the African-American experience from 1619 to the present day. Using biographies, historical essays, and thematic pieces, many written by foremost scholars, it addresses a wide array of subjects in over 2,300 articles to define in one source the cultural roots, participation in American life, and current condition of the African-American community.
Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895
In nearly seven hundred entries, this encyclopedia documents the full range of the African American experience during that period—from the arrival of the first slave ship to the death of Frederick Douglass—and shows how all aspects of American culture, history, and national identity have been profoundly influenced by the experience of African Americans.
Encyclopedia of African American History 1896 to the Present
This work traces the transition from the Reconstruction Era to the age of Jim Crow, the Harlem Renaissance, the Civil Rights Movement, and the ascendant influence of African Americans on the American cultural landscape. With coverage up to and including the 2008 election of Barack Obama as the 44th President of the United States, the Encyclopedia contains approximately 1,200 fully cross-referenced entries.

Imperialism / Colonialism Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Western Colonialism since 1450
ISBN: 9780028658438

Publication Date: 2006-08-25

The overseas empires of Western Europe, including the US first as colony then as colonizer, is deemed here to have ended in the middle to late 20th century. Over 400 articles provide information about such aspects as economic concepts and ideas, explorations and migrations, industries, organizations and institutions, people and peoples, religions,

General Background Sources

Gale E-Books (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
Search across 1,000+ Gale reference books and encyclopedias by keyword or subject.

Access from on campus or off campus with Ship ID.
Oxford Reference Online: Premium
Search across an extensive collection of authoritative Oxford reference books and encyclopedias by keyword or subject.

Access from on or off campus with Ship ID.
Cambridge Histories Online
This database features the renowned texts of the Cambridge Histories series. It features comprehensive historical volumes (often in multi-volume sets) for time periods, country or regional histories, specific literatures, important events, many fields of study, movements, fields of thought and practice (i.e. music, philosophy, political science, religion, theater), and a vast array of histories for socio-cultural topics (i.e. the Holocaust, slavery, law, war, sexualities, food).

HIS397 - Seminar in Comparative History

War & Genocide Encyclopedias

Race and Ethnicity Encyclopedias

Imperialism / Colonialism Encyclopedias

General Background Sources

Contact the Ezra Lehman Memorial Library