It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Primary Sources related to Mass Violence, Imperialism, and/or Racism
These digital archives contain collections relevant to the course themes. This list is not exhaustive! There are many other archival / primary source collections available online that may relate to course themes. To find such materials, visit your favorite search engine and enter [topic] digital archives OR [topic] digital collections. Alternatively, search the resources under "Finding Archival Collections" further down the page.
Search the collections of the US Holocaust Memorial Museum. Not all collection material is available online, and some of the material that is available may be in a foreign language (German, Polish, etc). The Photo Archives and Ephemeral Films are two of the more robust digital collections on this site.
Established in 1953, as the world center for documentation, research, education and commemoration of the Holocaust, Yad Vashem safeguards the memory of the past and imparts its meaning for future generations. Explore Yad Vashem's digital collections, which include photos, documents, and more.
Search the digital collections of the Genocide Archive of Rwanda. Collection materials related to the 1994 genocide against the Tutsi in Rwanda, pre-genocide history and post-genocide reconstruction processes are included. Here you can find testimonies given by survivors, perpetrators, rescuers and elders.
The University of South Florida's digital collections contain the following genocide related collections: Rwandan Youth & Children's Testimonies, Concentration Campus Liberators Oral History Project, Holocaust Survivors Oral History Project, Asaba Memorial Oral History Project, and Waging Peace Darfuri Children's Drawings.
This is a collection of “persuasive cartography,” maps intended primarily to influence opinions or beliefs - to send or reinforce messages - rather than to communicate objective geographic information. Maps of this sort have also been described as “suggestive cartography,” “rhetorical cartography” and “propaganda maps”. The messages of persuasive cartography extend to the full range of human concerns: religious, political, military, commercial, moral and social. The following subjects are specifically labeled in the collection for easy searching: Advertising & Promotion; Alcohol; Bias; Conduct of Life; Disaster/Health/Environment; Ethnocentrism; Heaven & Hell; Imperialism; Money & Finance; New York City; Politics & Government; Poverty/Prostitution/Crime; Railroads; Religion; Romance/Love/Marriage; Slavery; Suffrage; Other Moral & Social; Russo-Japanese War; Spanish-American War; U.S. Civil War; World War I; Between the Wars; World War II; Communism & Cold War; Other War & Peace
First published in November 1942, Colonial Cinema was issued by the Colonial Film Unit (1939-1955), a government unit set up by the Ministry of Information to produce, distribute and exhibit films throughout the British Empire. Throughout this most dramatic period in British colonial history – from the height of war to the last rites of Britain’s Empire – Colonial Cinema responded to, and reflected, the Government’s shifting attitudes towards its colonies.
This website holds detailed information on over 6000 films showing images of life in the British colonies. Over 150 films are available for viewing online. You can search or browse for films by country, date, topic, or keyword. Over 350 of the most important films in the catalogue are presented with extensive critical notes written by academic researchers.
Forward to Freedom tells the story of the British Anti-Apartheid Movement and its campaigns to support the people of South Africa in their fight against apartheid. The AAM also campaigned for freedom for Namibia, Zimbabwe, Mozambique and Angola, and against South Africa’s attacks on its neighbours. On this website you can find out how hundreds of thousands of people all over Britain took part in anti-apartheid activities. You can watch demonstrations and concerts, and hear from some of those involved.
IWM is a family of five museums and historic sites covering war and conflict from the First World War to the present day. IWM was founded in the midst of the First World War with a mission to preserve and tell the stories of all kinds of people, not only from Britain but from the countries of its empire.
This site guides researchers to collections in several Library divisions that specifically focus on the movement as well as the broader topic of African American history and culture. The Civil Rights History Project Collection (AFC 2010/039) contains more than 1200 items consisting of born-digital video files, digitized videocassettes, digital photographs and full-text transcripts for all interviews. The activists interviewed for this project belong to a wide range of occupations, including lawyers, judges, doctors, farmers, journalists, professors, and musicians, among others. The video recordings of their recollections cover a wide range of topics within the freedom struggle, such as the influence of the labor movement, nonviolence and self-defense, religious faith, music, and the experiences of young activists. Actions and events discussed in the interviews include the Freedom Rides (1961), the Albany Movement (1961), the March on Washington for Jobs and Freedom (1963), the Selma to Montgomery Rights March (1965), the Orangeburg Massacre (1968), the Poor People’s Campaign (1968), sit-ins, and voter registration drives in the South.
The Civil Rights Digital Library promotes an enhanced understanding of the Movement by helping users discover primary sources and other educational materials from libraries, archives, museums, public broadcasters, and others on a national scale. The CRDL features a collection of unedited news film from the WSB (Atlanta) and WALB (Albany, Ga.) television archives held by the Walter J. Brown Media Archives and Peabody Awards Collection at the University of Georgia Libraries.
The Foreign Relations of the United States series presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity. The series, which is produced by the Department of State's Office of the Historian, began in 1861 and now comprises more than 450 individual volumes. The volumes published over the last two decades increasingly contain declassified records from all the foreign affairs agencies.
The Joseph A. Labadie Collection contains posters which have been acquired over the past 100 years. This database consists of images of those posters covering social protest movements such as Anarchism, Civil Liberties, Colonialism, Communism, Ecology, Labor, Pacifism, Sexual Freedom, Socialism, Women, and Youth/Student Protest. Some are from the first half of the 20th century, but the majority are from the 1960s and later. Many are undated.
This site is key tool to located archival collections worldwide. Produced by OCLC (the cooperative library vendor that produces the WorldCat database), it provides full catalog records (with extensive subject indexing), links to finding aids when available, and links to the repository website.
The world's largest book database, WorldCat serves as a shared library catalog for 25,000+ libraries worldwide. Contains links to books, periodical titles, videos, internet resources, and other cataloged resources in libraries. It also contains selected collections of periodical articles. Access from on campus or off campus, with no ID required.
A useful online directory of archival collections worldwide. Provides very useful listings by U.S. State. Although quite a number of links do not work properly, it still remains useful as an extensive directory. Note: Effective January 1, 2015, the list of Repositories of Primary Sources will no longer be updated or maintained.