This weekly magazines provides an excellent overview of controversial issues in the news. This issue explores proposed changes by the Trump administration to strengthen the rights of the accused.
Provides citations to some 700,000+ articles in academic journals and professional magazines in criminal justice and related fields. Full text is immediately available for almost 80% of the articles.
This freely accessible database is a comprehensive source for criminal justice publications, including library abstracts for 225,000+ journal articles, research reports, data sets, and government publications. Since 2014, journal articles are largely excluded, with the focus on materials produced, funded, and sponsored by the U.S. Dept. of Justice. Most entries include links to the full text of reports and data sets. Search for the full text of journal article and book titles in the Ship Discovery Service.
Covers scholarly publications in sociology, social work, criminal justice, and related fields. Contains >2.5 million articles and other materials (70% in full text) with deep coverage from 1960 and some back to 1882.
Library database that covers the most important and controversial issues of the day. Contains the full text of CQ Researcher, a weekly publication. Each issue provides a comprehensive overview and background essay, data tables and graphs, chronology, pro-con starter, and list of major research and advocacy groups. Includes extensive lists of sources and hot-linked footnotes throughout.
This specialized legal database includes the full-text of 300+ law reviews and 150+ legal journals, as well as legal trade publications and news sources.
Westlaw is our major legal database that includes secondary and primary legal sources. It contains statutes, codes, arbitrations, and case law. Westlaw also includes the legal encyclopedias, journals, treatises, and law reviews. In addition to legal materials, it also has extensive collections of national and state/local news sources, as well as regional business magazines.
Access from on campus or off campus with Ship ID.
Sources for Basic and Background Information in Criminal Justice and Related Fields
Covers the most current and controversial issues of the day.
Contains full text of CQ Researcher, a weekly publication, which includes complete summaries, insights to many sides of issues, bibliographies and more.
Focuses on the substance of American law, the processes that produce its legal principles, and the history of the Supreme Court, from its creation to the present. Overview essays address the history of such topics as citizenship, due process, Native Americans, racism, and contraception, emphasizing the social context of each and the social and political pressures that shaped interpretation.
Covers today's leading cases, major statutes, legal terms and concepts, notable persons involved with the law, and important documents. Includes topics such as the Americans with Disabilities Act, capital punishment, domestic violence, gay and lesbian rights, physician-assisted suicide and more.
An interdisciplinary source that addresses not only law but also sociology, psychology, history and economics. Entries vary widely from abortion to rape and from family violence to wiretapping, offering a mirror of issues dominating today's headlines. This edition is a complete update and revision of the previous edition that includes new essays on topics such as stalking, hate crimes, and HIV.
