Social Work Guide

This new encyclopedia, much of it a revision of the Oxford Encyclopedia of Social Work, includes extensive updating and expansion with very current bibliographies. It is THE starting place for beginning research on the big social issues of central concern to social workers (i.e. Employment & Unemployment; Health Disparities & Inequities; Income, Wealth and Inequality; White Supremacy).

Contains 400 subject entries and 200 brief biographies of key figures in the history of social work. Includes demographic changes from immigration, technology, the implications of managed care, faith-based assistance, evidence-based practice, gerontology, and trauma and disaster. Includes a comprehensive index and topical outline.

One of two comprehensive reference sources for social work. This 4 vol. online encyclopedic handbook provides chapter length essays. The volumes cover: The Profession of Social Work; Human Behavior in the Social Environment; Social Work Practice; and Social Policy and Practice. In particular, scan the chapters in the first volume to find your field of practice.

This is the standard encyclopedia of the history of social work which we have in online form and print.

The Shippensburg University has created and maintains a collection of 100 topic guides on a wide variety of currently researched topics, many of which are relevant to social work. The guides are organized under broad categories, including: civil rights and liberties, crime & law enforcement, drugs, family, poverty, racial & ethnic issues, sexuality & gender, and social justice. These guides are an excellent place to get a high quality overview of your topic as well as links to the highest quality news and information sources on the web.