By Region - U. S. History - Background Information - Library at Shippensburg University

Pennsylvania/Northeast

Pennsylvania Gazette This link opens in a new window
Published in Philadelphia, the Pennsylvania Gazette was one of the most prominent American newspapers from 1728 until 1800, often called the The New York Times of the 18th century. It provides a first-hand view of colonial America, the American Revolution and the New Republic, and offers important social, political and cultural perspectives of each of the periods. It also included the full-text of such important writings as the Declaration of Independence, the Constitution, Letters from a Farmer, Thomas Payne’s Common Sense, The Federalist Papers and much more.

State Digital Resources: Memory Projects, Online Encyclopedias, Historical & Cultural Materials Collections
This freely available resource is an annotated collection of the most important web-accessible resources for researching state history. Maintained by the Library of Congress, it includes online encyclopedias, digital collections of primary sources, oral history collections and other memory projects, and other collections of historical and cultural materials. Sites typically include documents, photos, video, and audio.
State Resource Guides (Library of Congress)
This is a directory of state resource guides produced by the Library of Congress. These state guides provide access to the state-specific resources in the American Memory project and other collections at the Library of Congress.