It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A 3-volume survey of clothing, costume and fashion, presented through 640 essays, arranged alphabetically. Coverage includes the origins of clothing and body adornment, the development of fabrics and technologies, and the social meanings of dress, as well as representative costumes from a wide range of historical eras.
Includes more than 2,700 signed essays ranging from 500 to 2,500 words, written by subject experts and edited to form a consistent, readable, and straightforward reference. Entries include subject-specific bibliographies and, where appropriate, photographs and textual cross-references to related essays.
This comprehensive four volume encyclopedia (2011) has 795 entries on major environmentalists, environmental organizations and movements, natural sites and resources, man-made structures, natural disasters, governmental policies, outdoor recreation and leisure activities, industries, cities, and animals. Articles by 357 scholars from American universities, research institutions, and private organizations, serve the needs of the educated layperson. The average entry is seven to ten paragraphs long with four to five references to secondary sources. It is an excellent starting point for research on the role of nature in the human past.
Covers major American conflicts from the Colonial Wars through the War on Terrorism in the context of cultural and social events and conditions on the home front. Illustrated articles cover both biographies and topics such as civil liberties, media, politics, popular culture, religion, memory and national identity, civic celebrations, monumental art, literature, the roles of women and minorities, veterans, science and technology, humor, and music.
This extensive online version of a six volume print encyclopedia is a excellent starting point for research related to the U.S. Constitution. It includes lengthy essays on major constitutional topics, hundreds of important cases, and includes a substantial number of biographical articles.
Comprehensive reference to U.S. military terms, people, & battles covers military history from the earliest colonial conflicts to the present. Facts and trivia on major historical military figures. Covers all conflicts involving the U.S. military. Includes guides to pronunciation & to acronyms. Numerous lists & facts about people, places, and battles.
Addresses cultural phenomena characteristic of the indigenous peoples of North America. Entries cover the range of culture from lifeways, religious rituals, and material culture to art forms and modern social phenomena.
Surveys Native American history from ancient times to the twentieth century. Entries cover specific topics and incidents from a Native American perspective, including categories such as court cases and legal decisions, wars and battles, reservations and relocation, organizations, religion and missionary activities, national government and legislation, native government, treaties, and protest movements.
This standard collection, edited by Francis Paul Prucha, a leading scholar, contains the full text of 238 core documents on U.S. policy toward Native Americans. The volume is arranged chronologically, from the 18th century to 2000.
A five-volume set and supplement covering all aspects of the African-American experience from 1619 to the present day. Using biographies, historical essays, and thematic pieces, many written by foremost scholars, it addresses a wide array of subjects in over 2,300 articles to define in one source the cultural roots, participation in American life, and current condition of the African-American community.
Offers comprehensive, reliable, and accessible information about the fastest growing minority population in the U.S. Over 900 A-to-Z articles written by academics, scholars, writers, artists, and journalists, address such broad topics as identity, art, politics, religion, education, health, and history.
This online encyclopedia is our most comprehensive source for information about religious groups in the United States and Canada. The work is in two sections. The first part describes the major families and categories of religious groups, giving their history and major ideas (with extensive bibliography). Part two gives briefer descriptions for virtually all religious groups, large and small.
This comprehensive encyclopedia is an important starting point for any research related to Roman Catholicism, and to Christianity more broadly. It features extensive articles on the beliefs, practices, people, and history of Catholicism.