U. S. History - Background Information

This online set includes 8 vols., covering the time period of Early American Civilizations and Exploration to 1899.

Details the history of America's formative years from 1789-1830. Entries describe the more eminent persons- presidents, congressmen, justices, - evolving institutions - social, political, religious,- crucial events - battles, rebellions, upheavals, economic panics- as well as laws, treaties, elections, & inventions that shaped the young country. Includes a detailed chronology, maps and an extensive bibliography (76 pages) of primary and secondary sources for all topics.

This online encyclopedia includes eight volumes, each covering a major time period in American history from the beginning to 1899. Volumes typically include sections for: World Events, The Arts, Business and the Economy, Communications, Education, Government and Politics, Law and Justice, Lifestyles, Social Trends and Fashion, Religion, Science and Medicine, Sports and Recreation, as well as sections unique to the time period.

A three-volume survey of the formative years of the United States, starting just prior to the American Revolution and ending with the inauguration of Andrew Jackson in 1829. Presents 671 alphabetically arranged entries focusing on the major political markers and milestones, as well as the art, music, literature and daily life, of this period.

913 page dictionary covering the period roughly from 1848 to 1898. It includes detailed entries covering persons, battles & campaigns, significant legislation, political parties, private organizations, prevalent issues and jargon. Accessible introduction (24 pages) details the history and interpretation of events. Includes extensive bibliography (193 pages), a document appendix & tables covering governments during the time span.

Single volume (658 pages) of short entries of 1 or 2 paragraphs averaging 300- 450 words, selectively covering the people, events, movements, subjects, court cases, inventions, and more that define the Gilded Age period. Includes a Chronology for each year, 1861-1898. Alphabetical entries have brief bibliographies. Appendices include a selective bibliography, lists of elected and appointed officials, other notables and Presidential elections results. Excellent concise descriptions of the era.

This 10 vol. work provides the student with a chronological approach to studying the U.S. in the 20th century. Each volume covers one decade with sections for: arts, medicine and health, media, education, world events, religion, government and politics, lifestyles and social trends, law and justice, religion, business and the economy and sports. Sections include detailed, year by year chronologies, introductory overviews and essays on relevant topics, and many relevant lists.

Cross-disciplinary source spanning the 20th century. Each volume in the set includes full or excerpted primary sources representing the seminal issues, themes, movements and events from a decade. Includes oral histories, songs, speeches, advertisements, TV, play and movie scripts, letters, laws, legal decisions, newspaper articles, cartoons, recipes, and more.

This online encyclopedia includes eight volumes, each covering a major time period in American history from the beginning to 1899. Volumes typically include sections for: World Events, The Arts, Business and the Economy, Communications, Education, Government and Politics, Law and Justice, Lifestyles, Social Trends and Fashion, Religion, Science and Medicine, Sports and Recreation, as well as sections unique to the time period.