Scholarly research articles in the field of Psychology typically present the author(s)' attempt to test a thesis or explore a topic. Psychologists usually are interested in how peoples' mental functions affect their behavior so they gather data regarding peoples' biological and physiological processes. One hallmark of an empirical article is that the authors discuss data which they have collected themselves.
Empirical articles typically include these sections (not all articles include all sections):
Abstract
Introduction/Literature Review (may not be labeled)
Method
Participants
Measures
Procedures
Results
Discussion
Using the articles below, we will learn how to differentiate between an empirical article, a popular article, a trade publication, and a literature review.
Contains full-text for 80+ peer-reviewed psychology journals published by the American Psychological Association and related groups. Most titles have full text from 1985 or the first journal issue; coverage of the remaining titles extends from the mid-1990s.
A comprehensive index to the literature of psychology and related fields, including entries for journal articles, books, dissertations, and other research materials. It indexes some 4.5 million sources, 40% of which are available in electronic or print full-text in our library.
Contains 500+ journals in psychology and behavioral science not included PsycARTICLES. More than 80% are full-text; almost all are peer-reviewed, many with coverage back to the 1970s. Â
