Creative Writing Guide

Creative Nonfiction is the voice of the genre. Every issue is packed with new, long-form essays that blend style with substance; writing that pushes the traditional boundaries of the genre; notes on craft; micro-essays; conversations with writers and editors; insights and commentary from CNF editor Lee Gutkind; and more.

or more than a decade now, Brevity has published well-known and emerging writers working in the extremely brief (750 words or less) essay form, along with craft essays and book reviews.

NewPages.com keeps an up-to-date list of both print and online literary journals and magazines. They also provide literary magazine reviews, as well as links to publication contests and creative writing programs.

The AWP provides information about literary contests, writing conferences, and writing programs.

Provides criticism of modern American poets such as Sherman Alexie, E. E. Cummings, T. S. Eliot, Allen Ginsberg, William Carlos Williams, and more.

This site is a comprehensive guide to locating poetry resources available on the Library of Congress's Web site.

A resource from the Academy of American Poets with thousands of poems, essays, biographies, weekly features, and poems for love and every occasion.

The Center for the Book in the Library of Congress was established by public law in 1977 to promote books, reading, literacy and libraries, as well as the scholarly study of books.

The Victorian Web concentrates on Great Britain in the age of Victoria (1837-1901), but includes much material before and after those years, and the site also has a good deal of comparative material. It includes primary and secondary texts (including scholarly book reviews) in British Victorian economics, literature, philosophy, political and social history, science, technology, and visual arts.

The Shelley-Godwin Archive will provide access to the digitized manuscripts of Percy Bysshe Shelley, Mary Wollstonecraft Shelley, William Godwin, and Mary Wollstonecraft, bringing together online for the first time ever the widely dispersed handwritten legacy of this family of writers. The result of a partnership between the New York Public Library and the Maryland Institute for Technology in the Humanities, in cooperation with Oxford’s Bodleian Library, the S-GA also includes key contributions from the Huntington Library, the British Library, and the Houghton Library. In total, these partner libraries contain over 90% of all known relevant manuscripts. The S-GA is currently in beta. Check back regularly for more digitized content.

The Voice of the Shuttle provides an annotated guide to online humanities resources in the fields of cultural studies, literature, media studies, and more. It emphasizes both primary and secondary (or theoretical) resources.

The Victorian Women Writers Project is primarily concerned with the exposure of lesser-known British women writers of the 19th century. The collection represents an array of genres - poetry, novels, children's books, political pamphlets, religious tracts, histories, and more. It contains both prolific and rare authors.

A digital anthology of English literature from the medieval, renaissance, 17th century, and restoration periods.