Search the Ship Library Catalog for books and videos:
When we don't have the item you need, it is usually easiest to place an ILL request directly from a search result in a database. WorldCat searches across library collections worldwide and links to ILLiad for items not owned by Lehman Library.
ILLiad sequentially asks up to 15 libraries that own the item to loan it to us for you. Each library has four days to respond before the request is transferred to the next library.
Often, a deeper understandig of a topic can measurably improve an assignment. Take some time to gather some background information and work your new knowledge into your assignment.
The Department of Geography and Earth Sciences has resources available to ensure writing is in accordance with the formatting guidelines of the department as well as other scientific formats. Their resources can be found at www.ship.edu/Geo-ESS/Writing_Resources/.
Scientific Style and Format: The CSE Manual for Authors, Editors, and Publishers by 
This book presents a unified approach for modeling hydrologic processes distributed in space and time using geographic information systems (GIS). This Third Edition focuses on the principles of implementing a distributed model using geospatial data to simulate hydrologic processes in urban, rural and peri-urban watersheds. A physics-based approach involves conservation laws that govern the movement of water, ranging from precipitation over a river basin to flow in a river. Global geospatial data have become readily available in GIS format, and a modeling approach that can utilize this data for hydrology offers numerous possibilities. GIS data formats, spatial interpolation and resolution have important effects on the hydrologic simulation of the major hydrologic components of a watershed, and the book provides examples illustrating how to represent a watershed with spatially distributed data along with the many pitfalls inherent in such an undertaking.
'Space' and 'place' are concepts central to both geography and sport. Places, for example, are the means of identifying most sports teams, while sport both affects, and is affected by, the physical environment and landscape. In this fully revised and updated edition of his classic, discipline-defining text, John Bale comprehensively explores the relationships between sport, place, location and landscape. Drawing on examples from around the world, the book addresses key topics from the geographical diffusion of modern sport to the economic impact of sport. Also included in this new edition are cutting-edge areas of geographic interest, from the 'geographical imagination', to postmodern and postcolonial enquiry. Presenting a wealth of research data, as well as the most comprehensive guide to the literature currently available, this accessible text will be indispensable reading for all students of sport, human geography and cultural studies.
Earth's Weather, Water & Atmosphere, comprising over 125 lengthy essays on basic topics, is designed to provide an introduction to our latest understanding of the Earth. All of the essays begin with ready-reference top matter, including a summary statement in which the contributing author explains why the topic is important to the study of the Earth. A listing of principal terms and their definitions helps to orient the reader to the essay. The text itself is broken by informative subheadings that guide the readers to areas of particular interest. An annotated and updated bibliography close each essay referring the reader to external sources for further study that are of use to both students and non specialists. Finally, a host of cross-references directs the reader to other essays that offer information on related topics
Physics & Chemistry of the Earth, comprising over 125 lengthy essays on basic topics, is designed to provide an introduction to our latest understanding of the Earth. All of the essays begin with ready-reference top matter, including a summary statement in which the contributing author explains why the topic is important to the study of the Earth. A listing of principal terms and their definitions helps to orient the reader to the essay. The text itself is broken by informative subheadings that guide the readers to areas of particular interest. An annotated and updated bibliography close each essay referring the reader to external sources for further study that are of use to both students and non specialists. Finally, a host of cross-references directs the reader to other essays that offer information on related topics.
The Handbook of Meteorology gives specialists and non-specialists alike a clear understanding of the way our weather functions. It provides scientific answers to questions that arise when looking at the world around us. It starts with the basics of weather--temperature, pressure, humidity, and wind--before moving on to cover highs, lows, fronts, and storms, and finally ending with a look at weather forecasts, cloud watching, weather tools, and much more. The Handbook of Meteorology provides a condensed but all-inclusive broad sweep of meteorology, employing several illustrations to translate detailed technical information into terms that everyone can follow and readily refer to. It is a comprehensive reference for any budding meteorologist or environmental professional in the field, laboratory, or classroom.
