Welcome

ENG114 - Writing Intensive First-Year Seminar - Mortimore-Smith

This Research Guide has been designed to assist you in doing library research for the papers in your class. It includes links to research tools that will help you find background information, newspapers, magazine and journal articles and books.

Feel free at any time to use our Ask Us Anything chat or email reference service for additional assistance.

Ship to Shore

Discovery Searching

Start Here

These four sources are good starting points for your research in this class. They include background information sources, magazine and journal articles, and news sources.

Gale E-Books (Gale Virtual Reference Library) This link opens in a new window
Search across 1,000+ Gale reference books and encyclopedias by keyword or subject.
Access from on campus or off campus with Ship ID.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Library database that covers the most important and controversial issues of the day. Contains the full text of CQ Researcher, a weekly publication. Each issue provides a comprehensive overview and background essay, data tables and graphs, chronology, pro-con starter, and list of major research and advocacy groups. Includes extensive lists of sources and hot-linked footnotes throughout.
Access from on campus or off campus with Ship ID.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate is our largest single comprehensive database. It includes records for some 40 million items, with 25+ million immediately available in full-text. It covers all subject areas and includes newspapers and other news sources, general and specialized magazines, and scholarly journals. It is an excellent starting place for most undergraduate research.
Access from on campus or off campus with Ship ID.
Contents indexed in Ship Library Discovery Search.
Westlaw This link opens in a new window
Westlaw is our major legal database that includes secondary and primary legal sources. It contains statutes, codes, arbitrations, and case law. Westlaw also includes the legal encyclopedias, journals, treatises, and law reviews. In addition to legal materials, it also has extensive collections of national and state/local news sources, as well as regional business magazines.
Access from on campus or off campus with Ship ID.

ENG114 - Mortimore-Smith

Need Help?

Welcome

ENG114 - Writing Intensive First-Year Seminar - Mortimore-Smith

Ship to Shore

Discovery Searching

Start Here

Class Documents

Instant Answers

Ask Us Anything

Contact the Ezra Lehman Memorial Library