uniE610 Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENG234 - Bibby - American Literature II

Finding Articles for Literary Studies Research

Articles in journals about authors and their works can be found by searching the databases listed below. Some will be in full text.  Others will not. If no full text is immediately available, but there is a Full Text Finder link, click on it to see if the full text is in another database or in print or on microfilm in the library. If there is only a Request through Interlibrary Loan link, then you can request the article through Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad). For assistance setting up and using your ILLiad account, view this tutorial video.

Searching for Books in Print

The following links provide access to the Lehman Library catalog, WorldCat, and the Library of Congress, which you would use to find materials not available elsewhere that you could then request through interlibrary loan.

Using Books for Researching Literature

Books and chapters in books are one key way that scholars in literature and other humanities fields publish their research. At Shippensburg University, there are extensive literature holdings spread between the print collections on the upper level and the eBook holdings within various databases at Lehman Library.

The most efficient way to view the library's book holdings (in both print and eBook) is to use the Ship Discovery Service, and limit your results to books. For assistance in finding a book, contact Ashley Esposito, anesposito@ship.edu, or ask any research librarian at Lehman Library (including through chat!).

Shippensburg eBook Collections