It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This is one of the most important sources of significant speeches. Published monthly since 1934, the full text of each issue of the publication is available, including 17,000+ speeches. Enter in a second search box a rhetor's name or the keywords for a topic in which you interested.
This two volume print set indexes thousands of speeches that have been published in over 400 book collections, through the year 1980. It is indexed by speaker, genre, and topic. An excellent source for older material. If we don't own the specific book collection you need, it is easily available to borrow through WorldCat.
One of the most comprehensive news databases in the world, ProQuest Global Newstream includes access to over 3000 news sources, including 2,200 newspapers, as well as blogs, podcasts, websites and news wire feeds worldwide.
Development note - alt link use stats: (91 total hits, 33 since 7/2012 -- 10 /2012)
Use Proquest Newspapers or Lexis-Nexis to find the full text of speeches. The New York Times is often a good source for unabridged versions of speeches - it is included from the 1980s to the present in these two databases.
The Films on Demand Master Academic Video collection includes 39,000+ documentaries, educational videos, archival news and primary sources, lectures & interviews, as well as some dramatic and feature films. It covers all academic areas across the curriculum.
Accessible from on-campus or off-campus with your ShipID.
Academic Search Ultimate is our largest single comprehensive database. It includes records for some 40 million items, with 25+ million immediately available in full-text. It covers all subject areas and includes newspapers and other news sources, general and specialized magazines, and scholarly journals. It is an excellent starting place for most undergraduate research.
Access from on campus or off campus with Ship ID.
Contents indexed in Ship Library Discovery Search.
Academic Video Online (AVON) is our most comprehensive video collection. It includes 68,000+ documentaries, instructional videos, archival newsreels and news stories, and performances, interviews and lectures. This database has a very strong emphasis on the arts, including classical music, opera, ballet, and fashion.
The official compilation of presidential papers, based on the Weekly Complilation of Presidential Documents. The years 1991-2010 are now available online. See a librarian for more details concerning early volumes.
The Vanderbilt Television News Archive is the world's most extensive and complete archive of television news. We have been recording, preserving and providing access to television news broadcasts of the national networks since August 5, 1968. The core collection includes evening news from ABC, CBS, and NBC (since 1968), an hour per day of CNN (since 1995) and Fox News (since 2004).
This is the official source for all presidential documents, including many, many speeches. Online texts are available from 1993 to the present. These documents are then compiled in the Public Papers of the Presidents.