Articles - ENG236 - Windholz - Library at Shippensburg University

Finding Articles about Literature

Articles in journals about authors and their works can be found by searching the databases listed below. Some will be in full text. Others will not. If no full text is immediately available, but there is a Full Text Finder link, click on it to see if the full text is in another database or in print or on microfilm in the library. If there is only a Request through Interlibrary Loan link, then you can request the article through Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad). For assistance setting up and using your ILLiad account, view this tutorial video.

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to 1963 and contains over 3 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series, and 1,000 book publishers.
Gale Literary Sources This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive full-text database for all types of world, English and American literature. Includes major literary encyclopedias, literary criticism, biographical articles and reviews.
Access from on- or off-campus with your Ship ID
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Covers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, etc. Contains current full text scholarly journals which cover these fields and a significant collection of recent scholarly books.
Access from on campus or off campus with Ship ID.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is our most comprehensive interdisciplinary archive of scholarly journal articles. It includes the full-run of some 4,000 journals, from the journal's first issue up until the most recent 3-5 years (typically). Covers a wide variety of subjects, including the humanities, social sciences, natural sciences and mathematics, as well as extensive area studies collections and applied fields, such as business and criminal justice.
Access from on campus or off campus with Ship ID.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate is our largest single comprehensive database. It includes records for some 40 million items, with 25+ million immediately available in full-text. It covers all subject areas and includes newspapers and other news sources, general and specialized magazines, and scholarly journals. It is an excellent starting place for most undergraduate research.
Access from on campus or off campus with Ship ID.
Contents indexed in Ship Library Discovery Search.
Education Source This link opens in a new window
This extensive index of education literature indexes some 3 million articles in academic journals, and includes extensive entries for magazine and news articles as well.
Access from on campus or off campus with Ship ID.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
Extensive index to educational literature containing some 2 million items. Half of the database are entries for articles (ERIC Journals) and another one third are mostly unpublished documents (ERIC Documents) which include research reports, curricular materials, and a variety of other educational research materials. It also includes citations to some 70,000 dissertations.
Access from on campus or off campus with Ship ID.

Teacher Reference Center
Covers >270 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators. Contains indexing and abstracts and links to full text where available.
more...less...
Access from on campus or off campus with Ship ID.

ENG236 - Windholz

JSTOR

Ask Us Anything

Finding Articles about Literature

Contact the Ezra Lehman Memorial Library