America: History & Life is the definitive database for scholarly literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. It provides indexing for 1,700 journals from the late 1950s to the present, and includes records for scholarly journal articles, historical magazine articles and dissertations. Historical Abstracts is a companion database covering scholarly literature about the rest of world history from 1450 to the present.
MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to 1963 and contains over 3 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series, and 1,000 book publishers.
This full-text database covers all literatures worldwide and includes a comprehensive array of source types, including scholarly journal articles, chapters in books, biographical articles, topic and work overviews, reviews, and some primary source material. It includes articles directly from the sources as well as tens of thousands of items that have been reprinted in Gale literary sets, such as Twentieth Century Literary Criticism or ,i>Short Story Criticism.
This annual bibliography includes extensive bibliographic essays covering each year's scholarship on American authors. You can search across volumes of the series.
JSTOR is our most comprehensive interdisciplinary archive of scholarly journal articles. It includes the full-run of some 4,000 journals, from the journal's first issue up until the most recent 3-5 years (typically). Covers a wide variety of subjects, including the humanities, social sciences, natural sciences and mathematics, as well as extensive area studies collections and applied fields, such as business and criminal justice.
Covers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, etc. Contains current full text scholarly journals which cover these fields and a significant collection of recent scholarly books.
Academic Search Ultimate is our largest single comprehensive database. It includes records for some 40 million items, with 25+ million immediately available in full-text. It covers all subject areas and includes newspapers and other news sources, general and specialized magazines, and scholarly journals. It is an excellent starting place for most undergraduate research.
Access from on campus or off campus with Ship ID.
Contents indexed in Ship Library Discovery Search.
