uniE610 Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SSHELCO: Conference Registration

State System of Higher Education Library Cooperative Organization

Registration

 

2015 SSHELCO Annual Conference Program Sessions

SSHELCO 2015 Session Descriptions

Thursday Sessions – March 19, 2015

Breakout Sessions Group 1 (Thursday, 10:15-11:15 a.m.)

 

Moving Students from Annotated Bibliographies to Synthetic Writing: Teaching Students in Research Methods Classes How to Write Literature Reviews

Christy Fic, Archivist and Special Collections Librarian, Shippensburg University

Kirk Moll, Research Coordinator and Public Services Librarian, Shippensburg University

Ashley Esposito, Collection Development and Assessment Librarian, Shippensburg University

In this case study, three Shippensburg University librarians will describe how they collaborated to provide intensive library instruction during four class periods for an upper level sociology research methods course. Called upon to teach sessions for two weeks while the professor was in the field doing research, the librarians set out to devise a workshop structure that would prepare students to write a literature review for a research proposal due at the end of term. The goal was to move students away from simply summarizing sources, and to illustrate what steps are necessary to produce a coherent piece of synthetic writing. Instead of showing students how to just find sources for their literature reviews, the librarians were able construct a two week workshop where they taught students how to analyze and use their sources. This embedded the librarians more deeply into the students’ research process and demonstrated a need for library instruction to be more connected to subject content. Topics/learning units included: topic selection, subject classification, identifying empirical research articles, structure of a literature review, use of an article analysis matrix, synthetic writing, database searching techniques, ASA style, and avoiding plagiarism.

 

Plagiarism in the Stacks

Joann Janosko, Collection Development and eResources Librarian, Indiana University

Theresa McDevit, Government Information and Outreach Librarian, Indiana University

Librarians partner with subject professors to teach about plagiarism and how to guard against it in student works. How should a library handle a challenge to an academic title that has negotiated the collection development policies of the library and now is alleged to have been plagiarized by the author? Where does the library’s ethical stance lie: in Academic Integrity, where plagiarism is censored, or, as the protector of the Freedom to Read the items in the library’s collection? The issues to be discussed will include: • Who has the responsibility for retraction of plagiarized materials? • What proof is required that the document was plagiarized? • What effect will the denial of a challenge have on the relationships between teaching faculty and the library? • What role does the availability of digital tools for the recognition of plagiarism and the delivery of content play? This roundtable will open with details of one library’s handling of just such a challenge and how it became a means to open discussion between teaching faculty, students and librarians over two years. It will serve to build a dialog for all libraries and how they handle challenged materials where the integrity of the author is being questioned.

 

Cataloging SIG

Sara Pike, Technical Services and Systems Manager, Shippensburg University

 

LibApps Roundtable DIscussion: LibGuides Migration Process & Issues

Loring Prest, Electronic Resources Librarian, California University

Aaron Dobbs, Scholarly Communications and eResources Librarian, Shippensburg University      

Have you migrated your LibGuides from version 1 to version 2? Whether you have, or are still considering making the move, we invite you to join our roundtable to discuss the process and the issues involved. We want to bring together those who have experience with the process and those who still need to upgrade. The goal of the roundtable is to be a forum for sharing ideas and solving problems. If you are a LibGuides (etc.) administrator or user, please join our discussion.

 

Administrative Assistants SIG

Linda Horner, Administrative Office Manager, Clarion University

 

Breakout Sessions Group 2 (Thursday, 11:30 a.m. - 12:30 p.m.)

 

Give Us Some Credit: Librarians Teaching Credit-Bearing Courses

Monty L. McAdoo, Research and Instruction Librarian, Edinboro University

Credit-bearing instruction (CBI) serves as an ideal complement to traditional library user education sessions. The latter are typically pragmatic in nature, initiated by a faculty member, revolve around a specific assignment or course need, and are usually offered within the time constraints of the class. Although these sessions continue to serve a vital function, their structure and function necessarily limit both the scope and depth of what can actually be taught. Because of their practical focus, they also fail to discuss broader information issues and concerns (e.g. privacy, identity theft) confronting Society. As a result, for many students, most of what is learned via library user education sessions lacks context outside of the course or assignment. CBI provides a means of addressing these and other shortcomings while creating a number of benefits for librarians, students, and the institution. This presentation provides participants with an overview of the many challenges faced and opportunities created throughout my experience developing and teaching a 3-credit course on Information Ethics.

 

Collection development policies, strategies and justification for building a feature film collection

Rick Lilla, Education and Interdisciplinary Studies Librarian, Lock Haven University

Stevenson Library at LHU has over 8000 feature films in its collection. Since beginning to build this collection about six years ago, these DVDs and Blu rays have been extremely popular, with two feature films being circulated for every one book. This talk will address this collection’s mission, budget, and collection development strategies, taking into consideration factors such as critical acclaim, student appeal and course tie-in. Issues of our curricular mission, quality versus popularity, and format will also be included.

 

Archives SIG

Marilyn Parrish, Archivist and Special Collections Librarian, Millersville University

 

Reference & Instruction SIG

Kirk Moll, Research and Reference Librarian, Shippensburg University

 

Government  Documents SIG

Kathryn Yelinek, Reference Librarian and Coordinator of Government Documents, Bloomsburg University

This Special Interest Group meeting is intended for those SSHELCO librarians and staff who deal with government and Depository Library matters. In particular, this session will allow us to discuss the on-going Public Access Assessments currently being conducted by GPO. Come and discuss your experience and ask questions of those librarians who have already completed the PAA. New depository coordinators are especially welcome.

 

Breakout Sessions Group 3 (Thursday, 2:00-3:00 p.m.)

 

Flip it Good, Flip it Real Good: Improving Student Learning Outcomes using the Flipped Classroom in Library Instruction

Monica Ruane Rogers, Reference and Instruction Librarian, California University

Chris Harman, Health Science Professor, California University

William Denny, Distance Learning, Government Documents Librarian, California University

During this session, a review of literature will be presented regarding the multi-disciplinary history of the technologically-innovative flipped/inverted classrooms and how they are utilized in higher education settings to redesign instruction opportunities. Data from a freshman introductory Health Science course at California University of PA supporting the efficacy of the flipped classroom practice will be presented, along with examples of the tools and videos employed to create these highly-engaging instructional experiences. Best practices for design of flipped-classroom friendly sessions and activities will be discussed, with time given to allow participants to brainstorm technology-enhanced, learning-centric instruction sessions of their own. The presentation will conclude with future possibilities for inverting the library classroom at California University of PA for the First Year Seminar program.

 

Only Forward: Supporting Scholarship through Writing Retreats

Theresa McDevitt, Government Publications and Outreach Librarian, Indiana University

Kelli Kerry-Moran, Professional Studies in Education, Co-Director IUP Reflective Practice Project, Indiana University

Joann Janosko, Collection Development and Electronic Collections Librarian, Indiana University

Scholarly publication may not be required under the contract, but it can be a great way for faculty (in the library or in subject departments) to document their effective practices in teaching and learning, and assist in the promotion process. How can colleges and universities provide support for faculty to publish? How can libraries support library and other faculty to publish? In this round table discussion librarians from Indiana University of Pennsylvania will discuss a writing retreat event that was successfully held on the IUP campus in the fall of 2014. They will ask the participants how libraries throughout the system are helping faculty on their campus (including their library faculty) to publish. They will also attempt to determine if there might be interest in developing local  and/or regional writing retreats for librarians who would like to publish more.

 

Acquisitions/Serials SIG

Christina McCawley, Acquisitions and Serials Librarian, West Chester University

 

Digital Assets Management SIG

Judy Silva, Fine & Performing Arts Librarian and Archivist, Slippery Rock University

Jean Burton, Special Materials Cataloger, West Chester University

 

LibGuides 2.0 Responsive Web Design Workshop

Sheila Kasperek, Reference and Electronic Resources Librarian, Mansfield University

LibGuides 2 provides responsive web design that optimizes web pages for different devices. With a few CSS skills, you too can leverage the responsive functionality of the new LibGuides platform to make all your content responsive. This workshop will provide you with a basic understanding of how responsive design works from the user and designer perspectives and how to implement it for your own content in LibGuides 2. This workshop will involve reading/writing CSS and HTML code. Basic experience with HTML coding is recommended for workshop participants.

 

Breakout Sessions Group 4 (Thursday, 4:00-5:00 p.m.)

 

Bulk Delete Withdrawn Records Using Voyager "Pick and Scan" Function

Aiping Chen-Gaffey, Bibliographic Services Librarian, Slippery Rock University

Bailey Library at Slippery Rock University is transforming its building space to better support creative learning and collaborations. One of the projects addressed to this goal was to mass weed the library’s print collections, in order to free space for new types of user services. Beginning in spring of 2014, the librarians have weeded about 25% of the print collections, i.e. nearly 100,000 volumes of materials, which include books, bound journals and government documents. How was it possible for the Library’s Bibliographic Services to keep up with withdrawing and deleting records from Voyager? Come and see our workflow and a demo of how we used the Pick and Scan function in Voyager Cataloging to bulk delete bibliographic, holding, and item records!

 

Why Social Sciences need mapping: the West Chester University Experience

Awilda Reyes, Government Documents and Maps Librarian, West Chester University

Librarianship has changed over the years due to the advent of new information technologies. The skills needed in the past for a map librarian were extremely varied. Nowadays there is no need to have lots of knowledge of cartographic principles or understand a lot of details about projections. In the present we can find new user friendly-user databases and websites that use GIS (geographic information systems). GIS is being used to facilitate access to information and greater decision making. It can benefit social work, education and health by providing a framework for understanding human behavior and identifying community needs and assets. Students and faculty can create reference maps and thematic maps following a few steps. The increased popularity of online mapping systems has created a higher demand in social sciences classes. Find out what West Chester University is doing to engage students and faculty with the use of mapping software and websites, and learn about what databases and free available websites we are using.

 

Library Mission and Vision Development at Millersville University

Marilyn Parrish, Special Collections Librarian and University Archivist, Millersville University

William Marshall, Library Technician, Millersville University

Andy Welaish, Director of Library Operations, Millersville University

This presentation will engage participants in a discussion of the importance of articulating new mission and vision statements for academic libraries. McNairy Library staff and faculty recently completed a 6 month long process to engage the university community in articulating a new library mission and vision. Growing out of a new strategic plan for the university, the library mission and vision statements lay the groundwork for new ways library faculty and staff will engage with the university community.

 

Liking and Favoriting Student Success

Casey Sirochman, Student Success and Reference Librarian, Indiana University

Academic Libraries can engage in unlimited areas across campus and make connections to resources. This presentation will discuss these connections and further use of social media as a simple and alternative outlet to helping recognize and promote student success inside and outside of the classroom. This 45 minute presentation will cover past, present, and future ideas to engage students using Twitter and Facebook in an academic library setting beyond promoting Library resources. The presentation will also briefly explore other upcoming popular social media tools (Snapchat, Yik Yak, Vine) and potential uses in regards to student success and the role of academic libraries.

 

Systems SIG

Carol Otto, Library Information Systems Administrator, California University

 

Friday Sessions – March 20, 2015

Breakout Sessions Group 5 (Friday, 9:00 – 10:00 a.m.)

 

Student Supervisors SIG

Scott R. DiMarco, Director, Mansfield University

 

Panel on Campus Cases with Campus Copyright Coordinators

Stephen Marvin, Reference and Copyright Coordinator, West Chester University

Jack Widner, Reference and Copyright Coordinator, Edinboro University

Coordinators will select cases they have been engaged in on their campus and discuss the case. The actions will be described and the copyright questions described. A selection of cases will be made to cover a variety of topics.

 

Connecting the Dots between Student Learning and Institutional Objectives: Mapping Missions, Strategic Plans and the New Framework to Instructional Assessment

Josefine Smith, Instruction Coordinator and Reference Librarian, Shippensburg University

Ashley Esposito, Collection Development and Assessment Librarian, Shippensburg University

In January 2015, Shippensburg University’s Instructional Coordinator and Assessment Librarian began redrafting their 5-Column Assessment document in preparation for their 5-year programmatic review by the Academic Affairs Assessment Team. Through this process, they found that mapping threshold concepts and knowledge practices from the third draft of the Framework for Information Literacy for Higher Education enabled them to hone their mission statement and focus on learning outcomes that show a progressive development across the undergraduate and graduate curriculum. They additionally linked their institution’s Academic Master Plan Goals and library’s Strategic Plan Objectives to their mission statements for each tier of development. In this session they will share how they developed tier-specific outcomes and assessment methods for these Program Intended Educational Outcomes.

 

Lessons Learned & New Directions: Building Communities of Practice at Millersville

Melissa Gold, Science Librarian, Millersville University

Tatiana Pashkova-Balkenhol, Undergraduate Research & Instruction Librarian, Millersville University

Marilyn Parrish, Special Collections Librarian and University Archivist, Millersville University

The Research Fellows program at Millersville University has now expanded to include three departments: Earth Sciences, Music, and Sociology. The research fellows are selected through a competitive process and develop independent research projects within their disciplines. New initiatives include creating a common D2L core course on the research process, building an interdisciplinary community of practice for the students and for library and classroom faculty, and considering how the program contributes to expanding undergraduate research opportunities at Millersville.

 

Library Chairs Meeting (double session)

Bruce Gottschall, Library Chair, Kutztown University

 

Breakout Sessions Group 6 (Friday, 10:15-11:15 a.m.)

 

The Implications of a Library Security Strategy: "Lockdown vs. Run, Hide, Fight"

Scott R. DiMarco, Director, Mansfield University

The Implications of a Library Security Strategy “Lockdown vs. Run, Hide, and Fight: A question of Response Where Lives are in the Balance.” From active situations to the November 2014 shooting at the FSU Strozier Library, planning, training and communication are necessary.

 

Access Services SIG

Krista Higham, Access Services Librarian, Millersville University

 

Authoring the Past: Creating an Institutional Thesaurus for Millersville University

Nathan Pease, Research Librarian, Millersville University

Teresa Weisser, Cataloging and Metadata Librarian, Millersville University

In order to facilitate access to digital collections of resources relating to Millersville University, the library has initiated the development of a thesaurus of terms relating to locally important people, places, events, programs, and academic departments. By using consistent terminology to refer to these concepts, we anticipate that users of our digital collections will more readily and reliably locate the information that they seek. This presentation will describe the rationale behind the creation of the thesaurus, the methodology used to develop it, and the challenges encountered so far along the way.

 

Revisiting Wikipedia to Help Students Find What They Need

Leigh-Anne Yacovelli, Technical Services and Reference Librarian, Kutztown University

When did you last look at Wikipedia? Have you noticed any changes made to it over time? We know students prefer to begin their research using Internet resources such as Wikipedia before they turn to traditional sources, but did you know they would be more inclined to utilize scholarly articles and books at the library if they could access them through the websites they are already used to using? Let’s take a moment to revisit the Wikipedia dialog, and think about the benefits of creating a bridge that links it to free, scholarly resources. Regardless of what professors wish to see happen, Wikipedia is entrenched in most students’ research workflow. The second part of this talk will discuss a proposed application, UrWikiLink, which will allow users to click on a word on a Wikipedia page and automatically search free resources such as the library catalog, HathiTrust, and Prject Gutenberg. This interface would allow students to begin their research process with a resource they are already using and connect them to free, reliable, scholarly sources for their assignments, thus diminishing the frustration of not locating a book or article freely and conveniently while allowing students to use resources professors find acceptable.

 

Library Chairs Meeting (Pt. 2 of double Session)

Bruce Gottschall, Library Chair, Kutztown University

 

Breakout Sessions Group 7 (Friday, 11:30 a.m. – 12:30 p.m.)

 

Assessment SIG

Michael Weber, Technical Services Librarian, Kutztown University

Ruth Perkins, Reference Coordinating Librarian, Kutztown University

Susan Czerny, University Archivist and Online Learning Librarian, Kutztown University

Dan Stafford, Library and Information Technology Technician, Kutztown University

This is the inaugural meeting of the Assessment SIG. It will be an opportunity for participants to share assessment projects implemented in their libraries. Discussion points could include: methodology employed, data collected, conclusions reached, and opportunities for continuing research. We will also explore possibilities for collaborative assessment projects across multiple campuses.

 

Ethnic Collections Cataloging and Reference at Cheyney

Lianglei Qi, Cataloging Librarian, Cheyney University

Ethnic collections are a national treasure. However, it had been ignored by people for many decades. The Civil Rights Movement of the 1960s brought ethnicity into the forefront. As a result of those protests, more than 2,000 colleges and Universities began to offer curriculum in black studies. Currently, I serve as the Technical Services Librarian for Cheyney University, America’s first HBCU. Cheyney University’s Ethnic Collection is notable and has been broadened to include literature on American Indians, Mexicans, Puerto Ricans, and other minorities, as well as Afro-American materials. Over the past 10 years, I have been in charge of ethnic collections cataloging and reference at Cheyney. I would like to share my practical ethnic collection’s practice with KLN librarians, including but not limited to: ethnic collections brief history, definition, cataloging, resources, reference, sharing, preservation and development, etc. Finally, I concluded some of my personal thoughts and suggestions generated from my daily library work and research.

 

Strategic Planning that Works: How to Create a Dynamic Plan that Brings Shared Goals to Life and Helps Manage Transitions

Michelle Foreman, Associate Dean and Director of Libraries, Shippensburg University

Kirk Moll, Reference and Research Librarian, Shippensburg University

Does the thought of strategic planning excite you about a chance to have your voice heard, build consensus, and move into a positive future? Does it fill you with dread about the upcoming waste of time, which you believe will lead to the creation a document that will sit on a shelf and collect dust? Does it leave you scratching your head and wondering about whether or not it is a worthwhile process? Much depends on your past experience. In this session we will explore ways to create a strategic planning process that involves your stakeholders broadly and creates a living document that structures the efforts of teams of faculty and staff to work toward shared goals. The value of the creation process is explored, as well as the even more important value of the implementation and ongoing adaptation process, which is often missed in more traditional implementation models. Hear the faculty perspective as well as the administrative perspective. Question and answer time is included.

 

DIY Graphic Design

Danielle Skaggs, eLearning and Outreach Librarian, West Chester University

Would you like to improve the design of your physical and digital signage, handouts, and brochures? Maybe even create graphics for signage or to liven up your social media? This session, aimed at those with little or no graphic design skills and no budget for graphic design, will provide some basic guidelines to help you design (or redesign) a project, highlight resources to hone your graphic design knowledge and skills, discuss free tools to put together graphics, including some that do some of the creative work for you by providing design templates, and cover sources of creative-commons licensed images to use in your projects.

 

Instructional Technology SIG

Ryan Sittler, Information Literacy and Instructional Technology Librarian, California University

This will be an open SIG discussion for anything related to instructional technology at our various institutions. Discussion may include: D2L, tutorials, game-based learning, pedagogical approaches, etc.