Library: Global Languages Guide: Books and Articles

Quick Searches

Finding Articles about French, German, or Spanish Literature

Articles in journals about authors and their works can be found by searching the databases listed below. Some will be in full text. Others will not. If no full text is available, click Check Availability to see if the full text is in another database or in print or on microfilm in the library. If not, you can request the article through Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad).

Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Covers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, etc. Contains current full text scholarly journals which cover these fields and a significant collection of recent scholarly books.
Access from on campus or off campus with Ship ID.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is our most comprehensive interdisciplinary archive of scholarly journal articles. It includes the full-run of some 4,000 journals, from the journal's first issue up until the most recent 3-5 years (typically). Covers a wide variety of subjects, including the humanities, social sciences, natural sciences and mathematics, as well as extensive area studies collections and applied fields, such as business and criminal justice.
Access from on campus or off campus with Ship ID.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate is our largest single comprehensive database. It includes records for some 40 million items, with 25+ million immediately available in full-text. It covers all subject areas and includes newspapers and other news sources, general and specialized magazines, and scholarly journals. It is an excellent starting place for most undergraduate research.
Access from on campus or off campus with Ship ID.
Contents indexed in Ship Library Discovery Search.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Historical Abstracts with Full Text covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and much more. This authoritative database provides indexing of historical articles from more than 1,800 journals in over 40 languages back to 1955. Contains over 800,000 records and access to the full text of more than 349 journals and more than 120 books.
Access from on campus or off campus with Ship ID.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to 1963 and contains over 3 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series, and 1,000 book publishers.

Searching for Books on Modern Languages Topics

There are several places to find books on a particular topic in research in Modern Languages. The following links provide access to the Lehman Library catalog, WorldCat, and the Library of Congress, which you would use to find materials not available elsewhere that you could then request through interlibrary loan. For materials on learning or teaching a modern language, search for the language and study and teaching. For example, FRENCH STUDY TEACHING.

If you want books about the cultures of French- ,German- ,or Spanish-speaking people, search for the name of the country and civilization. For example, FRANCE CIVILIZATION.

Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
The Library Catalog is our most comprehensive search tool for the physical items in the Shippensburg University library collections, including books, journals, videos, microfilms, government publications and more. It also includes many digital items that are in our permanent library collections. For a comprehensive listing of all journal titles, both print and online, use the Library Publications (Journal Titles A-Z) tool.
WorldCat Advanced Search This link opens in a new window
The world's largest book database, WorldCat serves as a shared library catalog for 25,000+ libraries worldwide. Contains links to books, periodical titles, videos, internet resources, and other cataloged resources in libraries. It also contains selected collections of periodical articles. Access from on campus or off campus, with no ID required.

Library of Congress Online Catalog
Search the library holdings of one of the world's largest libraries. For access to the digital collections of the Library of Congress, use their Digital Collections website.

Global Languages Guide

Finding Articles about Teaching French, German, or Spanish Language or Literature

Quick Searches

Finding Articles about French, German, or Spanish Literature

Searching for Books on Modern Languages Topics

Contact the Ezra Lehman Memorial Library