It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Each student will complete a two-part project, consisting of a class presentation and a research paper. This project will give you a chance to apply the theories and concepts that you have learned in this class. You will present your research to the class during the final weeks of the course.
Topics must be approved by the instructor. Below are the general guidelines for your paper and presentation; more specific details will be discussed in class.
In-class Library Activity
Part of today's class-time will be identifying resources and locating potentially qualifying articles for your assignment. This activity should get you well on your way to being prepared for the overall project.
Covers trade publications from industries including finance, insurance, transportation, construction, and more. Covers over 700 publications for trade and industry information. Contains publications on every major industry, including finance, insurance, transportation, and construction.
Access from on campus or off campus with Ship ID.
Contents ~70% indexed in Ship Library Discovery Search.
A comprehensive index to the literature of psychology and related fields, including entries for journal articles, books, dissertations, and other research materials. It indexes some 4.5 million sources, 40% of which are available in electronic or print full-text in our library.
One of the most comprehensive news databases in the world, ProQuest Global Newstream includes access to over 3000 news sources, including 2,200 newspapers, as well as blogs, podcasts, websites and news wire feeds worldwide.
Development note - alt link use stats: (91 total hits, 33 since 7/2012 -- 10 /2012)
Spans the relationships among business, ethics, and society by including numerous entries that feature broad coverage of corporate social responsibility, the obligation of companies to various stakeholder groups, the contribution of business to society and culture, and the relationship between organizations and the quality of the environment.
Search the primary academic literature using library databases (Business Source Premier, JSTOR, PsycINFO) to gain background for your topic
Select articles from the primary journals listed below on a single topic related to business and society. You must find and use ten (10!) different articles from these journals!
Integrate the material from your article. You may also use books, magazines, newspapers, web-based source material, as appropriate.
Your paper should be no more than ten typewritten, double‑spaced pages ‑ you must be concise. The ten page limit is for the actual text of the paper, and does not include the title page, executive summary, tables, figures, or references. Use American Psychological Association (APA) format for research citations. [See "Citations" tab above]
You are required as part of this project, to meet with a staff member of Shippensburg University’s Learning Center at some point in the semester. Please provide documentation of your meeting to the professor. The campus Learning Center is a valuable resource for gaining information on technical questions related to writing clarity, sentence structure, grammar, tense, format, and APA style.
Develop a concise class presentation around the material that you have researched.
The most modern internet browsers have decided the authentication redirect does correctly handle these links from off campus:
In the top search box, paste the large ugly block of search text below, and click Search
(this should limit the results to the approved journals, then you can add your topic terms to the second and third search boxes)
((JN "Academy of Management Journal") OR (JN "Academy of Management Learning & Education") OR (JN "Academy of Management Perspectives") OR (JN "Academy of Management Review") OR (JN "Administrative Science Quarterly") OR (JN "Business Horizons") OR (JN "California Management Review") OR (JN "Consulting Psychology Journal: Practice & Research") OR (JN "HRMagazine") OR (JN "Harvard Business Review") OR (JN "Human Relations") OR (JN "Human Resource Development Quarterly") OR (JN "Human Resource Management") OR (JN "Human Resource Management Review") OR (JN "Human Resource Planning") OR (JN "Industrial & Labor Relations Review") OR (JN "International Journal of Human Resource Management") OR (JN "Journal of Applied Psychology") OR (JN "Journal of Business Ethics") OR (JN "Journal of Business & Psychology") OR (JN "Journal of High Technology Management Research") OR (JN "Journal of Small Business Management") OR (JN "Journal of Management") OR (JN "Journal of Organizational Behavior") OR (JN "Organizational Behavior & Human Decision Processes") OR (JN "Organizational Dynamics") OR (JN "Personnel Psychology") OR (JN "Sloan Management Review") OR (JN "Training & Development Journal"))