Library: LGBTQ+ Studies: Resources for Shippensburg Students, Staff, and Faculty

Campus Resources

PAGE Center
Shippensburg University's Pride & Gender Equity (PAGE) Center offers a focal point in making the institution an inclusive and equitable environment for all university community members, including LGBTQIA2S+ students, trans/cis women, trans/cis men, & nonbinary students.
Office of Inclusion, Belonging, and Social Equity
The Office of Inclusion, Belonging, and Social Equity assists the university in ensuring equal opportunity and access to educational, employment and contract opportunities for all persons including students, faculty, staff and administrators.

University Archives and Special Collections

The university archives and special collections hold the records of LGBT organizations at Shippensburg University dating from 1969 to the present. These include the records of the Pride Center, Shippensburg Students for Gay Rights, S.A.L.E., and the PAGE Center.

These records can be found in the archives record group 6, subgroup 2, series 12 (LGBTQ+ Programs and Services). For more information on our archives or special collections, please contact us at specialcollections@ship.edu.

Out of the Archives: 50 Years of LGBTQ+ History at Shippensburg University

Compiled by Dr. Steve Burg's HIS460 graduate students in Spring 2021, this interactive timeline depicts over 50 years of Shippensburg's LGBTQ+ history.

Out of the Archives: 50 Years of LGBTQ+ History at Shippensburg University

Off-Campus Resources

LGBT Center of Central PA
The LGBT Center of Central PA creates affirming spaces for LGBTQ+ people to find community, connection, and support.
TransCentral PA
TransCentralPA is committed to providing advocacy and caring support for transgender individuals, their significant others, families, friends and allies. TransCentralPA also provides gender education and information to businesses, organizations, educational institutions and governmental agencies.
GLO Harrisburg
GLO Harrisburg is a community resource center for LGBTQ+ youth and young adults of color, centering the experiences and needs of LGBTQ+ men of color and trans women of color.
Alder Health Services
Alder Health Services improves the health and well-being of individuals living with HIV/AIDS and members of the LGBTQ+ communities in South Central Pennsylvania by providing an inclusive and affirming environment that empowers the people we serve.

LGBTQ+ Studies

Campus Resources

University Archives and Special Collections

Out of the Archives: 50 Years of LGBTQ+ History at Shippensburg University

Off-Campus Resources

Contact the Ezra Lehman Memorial Library