Library: SOWK525: Background Info

Scholarly Social Work Encyclopedias and Handbooks

Encyclopedia of Macro Social Work (2023)
This new encyclopedia, much of it a revision of the Oxford Encyclopedia of Social Work, includes extensive updating and expansion with very current bibliographies. It is THE starting place for beginning research on the big social issues of central concern to social workers (i.e. Employment & Unemployment; Health Disparities & Inequities; Income, Wealth and Inequality; White Supremacy).
Encyclopedia of Social Work
Contains 400 subject entries and 200 brief biographies of key figures in the history of social work. Includes demographic changes from immigration, technology, the implications of managed care, faith-based assistance, evidence-based practice, gerontology, and trauma and disaster. Includes a comprehensive index and topical outline.

more... less...

(ORO)
The Comprehensive Handbook of Social Work and Social Welfare
This 4 vol. print and online encyclopedic handbook provides chapter length essays. The volumes cover: The Profession of Social Work; Human Behavior in the Social Environment; Social Work Practice; and Social Policy and Practice.

Sage Reference and Academic Books (Sage Knowledge)
An extensive collection of online reference sources and academic e-books from Sage, the leading social sciences publisher. It includes some 1000+ major reference sources as well as 5,000+ academic e-books. Major coverage is provided for Education, Sociology, Business & Management, Health and Human Services (including Social Work), Counseling, Psychology, and Political Science and International Relations, as well as less extensive coverage for other social science fields.
Gale E-Books (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
Search across 1,000+ Gale reference books and encyclopedias by keyword or subject.

Access from on campus or off campus with Ship ID.