It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Angela Davis: An Autobiography is a powerful and commanding account of her early years in struggle. Davis describes her journey from a childhood on Dynamite Hill in Birmingham, Alabama, to one of the most significant political trials of the century: from her political activity in a New York high school to her work with the US Communist Party, the Black Panther Party, and the Soledad Brothers; and from the faculty of the philosophy department at UCLA to the FBI’s list of the 10 Most Wanted Fugitives. Told with warmth, brilliance, humor, and conviction, Angela Davis’ autobiography is a classic account of a life in struggle with echoes in our own time.
The Meaning of Freedom: And Other Difficult Dialogues by Angela Y. Davis; Introduction by Robin D. G. Kelley
Publication Date: San Francisco, CA : City Lights Books, 2012
In this collection of twelve previously unpublished speeches, Angela Davis confronts the interconnected issues of power, race, gender, class, incarceration, conservatism, and the ongoing need for social change in the United States. With her characteristic brilliance, historical insight, and penetrating analysis, Davis addresses examples of institutional injustice and explores the radical notion of freedom as a collective striving for real democracy - not something granted or guaranteed through laws, proclamations, or policies, but something that grows from a participatory social process that demands new ways of thinking and being.
Publication Date: New York: Seven Stories Press, c2003
Since the 1980s prison construction and incarceration rates in the U.S. have been rising exponentially, evoking huge public concern about their proliferation, their recent privatisation and their promise of enormous profits. But these prisons house hugely disproportionate numbers of people of colour, betraying the racism embedded in the system, while studies show that increasing prison sentences has had no effect on crime. Here in Are Prisons Obsolete? esteemed civil rights activist Angela Davis lays bare the situation and argues for a radical rethinking of our rehabilitation programmes and our response to harm.
The Angela Y. Davis Reader by Angela Y. Davis, Edited by Joy James
Publication Date: Malden, Mass.: Blackwell, 1998
The Angela Y. Davis Reader presents eighteen essays from her writings and interviews which have appeared in If They Come in the Morning, Women, Race, and Class, Women, Culture, and Politics, and Black Women and the Blues as well as articles published in women's, ethnic/black studies and communist journals, and cultural studies anthologies. In four parts - "Prisons, Repression, and Resistance", "Marxism, Anti-Racism, and Feminism", "Aesthetics and Culture", and recent interviews - Davis examines revolutionary politics and intellectualism.
Women, Race and Class by Angela Y. Davis
Publication Date: New York: Vintage Books, 1983, c1981
In Women, Race, and Class Angela Davis provides a powerful history of the social and political influence of whiteness and elitism in feminism, from abolitionist days to the present, and demonstrates how the racist and classist biases of its leaders inevitably hampered any collective ambitions. Here, Davis not only contextualizes the legacy and pitfalls of civil and women's rights activists, but also discusses Communist women, the murder of Emmitt Till, and Margaret Sanger's racism. Davis shows readers how the inequalities between Black and white women influence the contemporary issues of rape, reproductive freedom, housework and child care in this bold and indispensable work.
If They Come in the Morning... :Voices of Resistance by Angela Davis
Publication Date: New York: Verso, 2016; Originally published New York: Third Press, 1971
Opening with a letter from James Baldwin to Davis, and including contributions from numerous radicals such as Black Panthers George Jackson, Huey P. Newton, Bobby Seale and Erica Huggins, this book is not only an account of Angela Davis’s incarceration and the struggles surrounding it, but also perhaps the most comprehensive and thorough analysis of the prison system of the United State. The scathing analysis of the role of prison and the policing of black populations offered by Davis and her comrades in this astonishing volume remains as pertinent today as the day it was first published.
(Runtime: 1:13:24, published June 17, 2021)
An interview/question and answer session with Angela Davis and Ange-Marie Hancock Alfaro. While answering the questions, Davis discusses types of work she does and doing what happens to get the job done, the need to see interrelational forms of violence and Davis's rejection of the use of violence to solve another issue of violence. With questions from students, she talks about past successful change and future radical possibilities, distortion in the terms and frameworks, advice for students, international solidarity as a route to imagining a world without nation states, "collective nature of our pursuits," and her view on the necessity of art.
(Runtime: 1:42:39, published September 6, 2018)
An interview with Angela Davis and Jane Elliott at the University of Houston in which privilege, racism, and individual versus systemic change are discussed.
A text transcript of an interview of Angela Davis in spring of 1997. The interview focuses on the evolution of politics at the time of interviewing, the fight of economic justice for Black people, and on the path Davis has traveled in her career and organizing work.
(Runtime: 32:56, published March 18, 2014)
A speech given by Angela Davis at UCLA just a week after she was fired from her position at the university. Speaking of the Board of Regents who fired her and the use of knowledge and education she said "[the Board] intend to keep the knowledge developed in the university in the service of the prevailing oppression." In the speech she discusses her motives for keeping political opinions in the classroom, broader societal critique and basic material problems faced by Black people and other people of color. She finishes the speech with a note about a growing extremism in the repression she saw across the country and a plea for a serious fight against fascism.
A playlist on the YouTube channel "AfroMarxist" of interviews, panels, and speeches involving Angela Davis. There are 108 videos in the playlist, most being under 10 minutes (some are stand alone and some are parts of a bigger recording).
(Runtime: 59:10, originally given on October 10, 2006)
In this talk on strategies for change Angela Davis reflects on how to use knowledge in a transformative way and the false nature heroic individualism in movements of change (using the Montgomery Bus Boycott as an example). She also critiques diversity as a false end goal which distracts from other measures of equity and justice, state appropriation of ideas and concepts, and the Bush administration.
A collection of materials related to the campaign to free Angela Davis from prison in the early 1970's which includes a copy of Davis’s article, Reflections on the Black Woman’s Role in the Community of Slaves, posters and flyers related to events. All of the materials available in the collection are digitized and available at this link.
The finding aid for a major collection of "writings, correspondence, speeches, and subject files of black feminist philosopher and prison abolitionist Angela Y. Davis." (Overview). A portion of the collection (300+ titles) is digitized and available through this website.
"Record Series 815 contains records and clippings collected by UCLA University Archives on the subject of Angela Davis, her dismissal from UCLA, and criminal trial. " (Abstract). None of the materials are digitized.
"The records of the National United Committee to Free Angela Davis consists overwhelmingly of support letters...and also contains some of the organization's administrative records, publications and correspondence." (Summary). None of the materials are digitized.