Library: FR400: Advanced Studies in French-Mitaut: Finding Resources

Quick Searches

Sources for Basic and Background Information in Modern Languages and Related Fields

Oxford Reference Online Dictionary Collection
Search a collection of bilingual dictionaries.
Countries and Their Cultures
Presents the cultural similarities within a country that set it apart from others by examining over 200 countries to document the myriad ways in which culture defines and separates the nations of the world as much as geographical borders do. Surveys each country's shared values, behaviors and cultural variations from foods and rituals to pastimes and arts, using a standard entry format for easy comparison. Provides illustrations, photographs and maps. 4 volumes.

Finding Articles about French, German, or Spanish Literature

Articles in journals about authors and their works can be found by searching the databases listed below. Some will be in full text. Others will not. If no full text is available, click Check Availability to see if the full text is in another database or in print or on microfilm in the library. If not, you can request the article through Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad).

Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Covers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, etc. Contains current full text scholarly journals which cover these fields and a significant collection of recent scholarly books.
Access from on campus or off campus with Ship ID.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is our most comprehensive interdisciplinary archive of scholarly journal articles. It includes the full-run of some 4,000 journals, from the journal's first issue up until the most recent 3-5 years (typically). Covers a wide variety of subjects, including the humanities, social sciences, natural sciences and mathematics, as well as extensive area studies collections and applied fields, such as business and criminal justice.
Access from on campus or off campus with Ship ID.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate is our largest single comprehensive database. It includes records for some 40 million items, with 25+ million immediately available in full-text. It covers all subject areas and includes newspapers and other news sources, general and specialized magazines, and scholarly journals. It is an excellent starting place for most undergraduate research.
Access from on campus or off campus with Ship ID.
Contents indexed in Ship Library Discovery Search.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and much more. This authoritative database provides indexing of historical articles from more than 1,800 journals in over 40 languages back to 1955. Contains over 800,000 records and access to more than 349 journals and more than 120 books.
Access from on campus or off campus with Ship ID.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to 1963 and contains over 3 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series, and 1,000 book publishers.

FR400: Advanced Studies in French-Mitaut

Get Help!

Quick Searches

Sources for Basic and Background Information in Modern Languages and Related Fields

Finding Articles about French, German, or Spanish Literature

Contact the Ezra Lehman Memorial Library