Educational Leadership Doctoral Program

This current (2024), extensive scholarly handbook is an excellent starting place for research on social factors effecting education. Chapter length entries include extensive lists of current references.

This work allows readers to gain knowledge of educational management in practice while providing insights into challenges facing educational leaders and the strategies, skills, and techniques needed to enhance administrative performance. It emphasizes the important skills that effective leaders must develop and refine, including communication, developing teams, coaching and motivating, and managing time and priorities. It includes 30 comprehensive, very well organized chapters, distributed under 10 major headings covering the field. Each article includes a substantial list of bibliographic sources for further reading.

This work provides a substantial review of the history, current status and future prospects of the field of school organization and management. Bringing together chapters exploring key issues, important debates and points of tension, the Handbook highlights school and system organizational structure, processes and dynamics coupled with insights into important theoretical foundations from diverse perspectives.

In an era of curricular changes and experiments and high-stakes testing, educational measurement and evaluation is more important than ever. In addition to expected entries covering the basics of traditional theories and methods, other entries discuss important sociopolitical issues and trends influencing the future of that research and practice. This comprehensive work features nearly 700 signed entries are contained in an authoritative work spanning four volumes and available in choice of electronic and/or print formats. Although organized A-to-Z, the "Reader's Guide" feature/tab allows easy browsing of these articles, organized under approx. 25 key categories. Entries tend to be the equivalent of 2-4 pages long, with selective bibliographic lists to key studies on the topic.

This comprehensive handbook to educational research includes 51 extensive chapters, organized under six headings: Understanding Research, Planning Research, Approaches to Research, Acquiring Data, Analysing Data, and Reporting, Disseminating & Evaluating Research. Each chapter includes a lengthy list to key research studies on the article topic.

Comprehensive overview of the theoretical, conceptual, and applied/practical presentations of action research in educational settings. Covering primarily PK-12 educational settings, the book utilizes a cross-section of international authors and presentations to provide global perspectives on action research in education. Part I focuses on various foundational aspects and issues related to action research. Part II is centered on chapters that present theories and principles that help to guide the use of action research in educational contexts. Part III focuses on specific applications of educational action research in practice. Part IV provides an outlet for seven educational practitioners to share their experiences in conducting action research.

The handbook contains theoretical and practical based chapters by highly respected scholars whose work has been seminal in building knowledge and expertise in the field. It also contains chapters exemplifying the work of prominent practitioner and community groups working outside universities. The Editors provide an introduction and conclusion, as well as an opening chapter which charts the historical development of action research and provides an analysis of its underlying theories. The handbook is organized into four sections, each beginning with a short introduction: - Action research methodology: diversity of rationales and practices - Professional: Knowledge production, staff development, and the status of educators - Personal: Self-awareness, development and identity - Political: Popular knowledge, difference, and frameworks for change

This encyclopedia brings together the many strands of action research and addresses the interplay between these disciplines by presenting a state-of-the-art overview and comprehensive breakdown of the key tenets and methods of action research as well as detailing the work of key theorists and contributors to action research. To watch a video of editor David Coghlan discuss the importance of this major reference work, click here: http://youtu.be/P6YqCdZCZCs

This handbook covers the current state of the action research discipline, including chapters for emerging areas in healthcare, social work, education and international development.

This book covers the principles and history of action research, ethical and legal considerations, methods for conducting both formal and informal action research, data collection methods, analysis and interpretation, action planning and initiation, and results evaluation. The author includes numerous examples, strategies, and illustrations that can be applied to elementary and secondary schools as well as university settings.

This volume equips teachers-in-training with the skills needed for action research - a process that leads to focused, effective, and responsive strategies that help students succeed.

This book demonstrates how action research can be used as an integral component of teaching and learning and how teacher researchers can engage students as participatory researchers to accomplish highly effective learning outcomes. It details student research processes chapter by chapter, and demonstrates, through examples and multiple lesson plans, how these processes can be incorporated into classroom lessons and linked to state courses of study and performance standards.

This book is serves as a primary textbook for graduate courses in action research. It goes beyond the "how to" of action research to examine the "why"--the historical origins, the rationale behind practice-based research, the related theoretical and philosophical perspectives, and the major paradigms of action research - demonstrating how action research can contribute to the creation of schools as centers of democratic inquiry.