COST400 - Senior Seminar

The Dictionary of Media and Communication is an authoritative and wide-ranging A-Z providing over 2,200 entries on terms used in media and communication, from concepts and theories to technical terms, across subject areas that include advertising, digital culture, journalism, new media, radio studies, and telecommunications. It also covers relevant terminology from related disciplines such as literary theory, semiotics, cultural studies, and philosophy. The entries are extensively cross-referenced, allowing the reader to link related concepts that span different discourses with ease. It is an indispensable guide for undergraduate students on degree courses in media or communication studies, and also for those taking related subjects such as film studies, visual culture, and cultural studies. With highly relevant web links to key essays, images, examples, and websites which complement the A-Z entries, all updated and accessed via a companion webpage, as well as a biographicalappendix with web links to key people, this is a valuable resource for media professionals, postgraduates, academics, and researchers and an eminently practical and user-friendly reference for anyone involved in the worlds of media and communication.

Now in its second edition, this invaluable work is the most authoritative dictionary of linguistics of its kind available. The author, Peter Matthews, is professor of linguistics at Cambridge University and an established expert in the field. The dictionary contains over 3,150 entries covering every aspect of this multidisciplinary field, including sociolinguistics, language theory and history, language families, and major languages from all over the world (including major national/regional dialects), and key figures and ideas in linguistics. Fully revised and updated for the second edition, the dictionary now boasts greatly enhanced coverage of sociolinguistics, making it an ideal reference for those studying linguistics. It also includes entries on notable recent theorists in the field, such as Del Hymes and Peter Trudgill. Wide-ranging and accessible, this dictionary is ideal reference for students and teachers in language-related courses, and a great introduction to linguistics for the general reader with an interest in language and its study.