Skip to Main Content

MUS315: Music in the United States-Dade

Online Music Encyclopedias

Grove Music Online
Search across multiple Music-focused authoritative encyclopedias. Provides in-depth articles and short-answer definitions on Music topics.
Access from on campus or off campus with Ship ID.

Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians
Covers all musical genres, with new entries written by a distinguished group of area specialists as well as the original articles by Nicolas Slonimsky. This work continues the tradition of offering the most comprehensive and authoritative information on musicians, along with interesting and insightful evaluations of their contributions to the musical world.

more... less...

(GVRL)

Print Music Encyclopedias

The New Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments by Stanley Sadie (Editor)
ISBN: 0943818052

Publication Date: 1985

From custom and conception, through craftsmanship and construction, to playing and performance, The New Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments is the definitive guide to musical instruments from around the world. Covering over 12,000 musical instruments, it describes each instrument individually and in the context of instrument families. Charting the history, development, musical function, and intercultural links of each instrument, this is the most comprehensive collection of information on the topic. It also explores the cultures, societies and religions which have created these instruments and the various extra-musical functions of certain instruments.

Relevant Interdisciplinary Resources

Find contextual and background information for different elements of American culture.

Countries and their Cultures
Presents the cultural similarities within a country that set it apart from others by examining over 200 countries to document the myriad ways in which culture defines and separates the nations of the world as much as geographical borders do. Surveys each country's shared values, behaviors and cultural variations from foods and rituals to pastimes and arts, using a standard entry format for easy comparison. Provides illustrations, photographs and maps. 4 volumes.

more... less...

(GVRL)
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture
Provides a comprehensive, multidisciplinary view of Latin American history and culture from prehistoric times to the present. Covers cultural issues and includes numerous biographical profiles of important figures in politics, letters and the arts.

more... less...

(GVRL)

America: History & Life
America: History & Life is the definitive database for scholarly literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. It provides indexing for 1,700 journals from the late 1950s to the present, and includes records for scholarly journal articles, historical magazine articles and dissertations. Historical Abstracts is a companion database covering scholarly literature about the rest of world history from 1450 to the present.
Access from on campus or off campus with Ship ID.

American History Encyclopedias
Provides an array of reference resources about the United States history and culture from prehistoric times to the present. Covers cultural issues and includes numerous biographical profiles of important figures in politics, letters and the arts.
Different Cultures in America
GVRL encyclopedia list of different cultures in the United States, including information about their music traditions.

Last Updated: Jun 9, 2025 3:15 PM
URL: https://library.ship.edu/mus315dade
Print Page

Subjects: Music

Contact the Ezra Lehman Memorial Library

Lehman Library 1871 Old Main Drive Shippensburg, PA 17257 Phone: (717) 477-1465 SMS: (717) 496-4552 Email Us Library Suggestion Box