COM425 - Witmer

This is the fundamental starting point for any research involving U.S. statistics. Although the U.S. government stopped producing it with the 2012 issue, the Statistical Abstract still provides provides tables of statistics for most areas of American business, society, education, family life, employment, and other aspects. Most importantly, tables will always list the sources for their data. This will lead you to the most detailed and up-to-date source for your statistical topic.

The Census Bureau provides an online archive of the annual statistical abstract back to 1878, as well as a very useful compendium, Historical Statistics of the United States, Colonial Times to 1970.

Excellent sources of city and county data for earlier period (1947-2007). Produced by the U.S. Census Bureau.

This is the home page of the major statistical agency of the U.S. Government. It features an array of tools and approaches to obtaining statistical information.

This is an easy to use tool from the census bureau that brings together population, housing, economic, and geographic information from the census in one place.

This major section of the Census Bureau website provides data for a wide range of demographic topics, including the elderly, children, families, women, race, immigration, migration, poverty, education, occupations, and many others.

This site is the major gateway to U.S. health statistics.

This site features easy access pages which provide the most commonly requested heath stats on 100+ health topics. Each FastStats page provides links to source information for each statistic as well as providing links to the specific health agency websites responsible for providing more detailed information.

This is the major annual U.S. health statistics publication. It tracks trends in U.S. health and compiles a large array of statistical tables. The site provides access to year of this publication, back to 1975.

This is the comprehensive site for U.S. education statistics. This complex site is made much easier to navigate by a very useful Subject Index, A-Z.

The major annual compilation of U.S. education statistics. Online versions are available back to 1990.

A major annual publication which assesses U.S. education at all levels, based on approx. 50 different indicators.

This major section of the Census Bureau website includes data from the economic census, monthly and quarterly indicators, and a variety of other sources and business sectors.

This is the major site for all types of U.S. labor statistics, including: inflation and prices (including U.S. import and export prices), employment and unemployment, pay and benefits, spending and time use, productivity, and workplace injuries.