It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Grossberg, Lawrence. "Cultural Studies." New Dictionary of the History of Ideas, edited by Maryanne Cline Horowitz, vol. 2, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2005, pp. 519-524. Gale eBooks, link.gale.com/apps/doc/CX3424300182/GVRL?u=pl2833&sid=bookmark-GVRL&xid=31009619.
A set of 'signifying practices' that produce meaning to a population or society.Popular culture Studies are concerned with how meaning is constructed and produced through material and non material artifacts in a common culture.
Process with which cultural artifacts are created and consumed. In a Cultural Studies context often considered as part of the idea construction process and involving power structures. (P163)
Creator encodes document with own cultural perspective- disseminates- audience decodes based on their own meaning- making
This Article breaks it down nicely:
Title: Relearning Race: Teaching Race as a Cultural Construction
Author(s): Joel M. Sipress
Source: The History Teacher, Vol. 30, No. 2 (Feb., 1997), pp. 175-185
Stable URL: http://www.jstor.org/stable/494572
Feminist studies brought to this general focus on women a critique of all forms of domination, an emphasis on cooperation, and a belief in the integration of theory and practice. While somewhat different in purpose and focus, women's studies and feminist studies generally function as a single discipline within academia. (p291)
Bates, Aryana F. "Women's Studies and Feminist Studies." Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender History in America, edited by Marc Stein, vol. 3, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2004, pp. 290-295. Gale eBooks, link.gale.com/apps/doc/CX3403600551/GVRL?u=pl2833&sid=bookmark-GVRL&xid=f4f4a28c.
Key Concepts in Literary Theory presents the student of literary and critical studies with a broad range of accessible, precise and authoritative definitions of the most significant terms and concepts currently used in psychoanalytic, poststructuralist, Marxist, feminist, and postcolonialliterary studies. The volume also provides clear and useful discussions of the main areas of literary, critical and cultural theory, supported by bibliographies and an expanded chronology of major thinkers. Accompanying the chronology are short biographies of major works by each critic or theorist.This 3rd edition is both revised and expanded and includes:* 100+ additional terms and concepts, clearly defined* the addition in particular of keywords from the social sciences, cultural studies and psychoanalysis and a broader selection of classical rhetorical terms* an expanded chronology, with additional entries and a broader historical and cultural range* expanded bibliographies including key texts by major critics.This is a must-read for any student wishing to improve his or her critical writing.
The first edition of established itself as the leading textbook in the field, providing the ideal introduction for students to this exciting and influential discipline. This expanded second edition offers: * 38 essays including 18 new articles * an editor's preface succinctly introducing each article * comprehensive coverage of every major cultural studies method and theory * an updated account of recent changes in the field * articles on new areas such as science and cyberculture, globalization, postcolonialism, public spheres and cultural policy * a fully revised introduction and an extensive guide to further reading.
Covers scholarly publications in sociology, social work, criminal justice, and related fields. Contains >2.5 million articles and other materials (70% in full text) with deep coverage from 1960 and some back to 1882.
A comprehensive resource for communication research. Communication Source was developed from a merger of Communication and Mass Media Complete and Communication Abstracts (formerly published by Sage), and includes many unique sources not previously available in other databases. Communication Source offers abstracts and indexing as well as full-text content from publications worldwide pertaining to Communication, Linguistics, Rhetoric and Discourse, Speech-Language Pathology, Media Studies and other fields relevant to the discipline.