It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Covers all musical genres, with new entries written by a distinguished group of area specialists as well as the original articles by Nicolas Slonimsky. This work continues the tradition of offering the most comprehensive and authoritative information on musicians, along with interesting and insightful evaluations of their contributions to the musical world.
This 10-volume series takes a cultural approach to its focus on the music of all the world’s peoples. Each volume is arranged topically, regionally, or by ethnic group, and complemented by an extensive index. Although each volume will differ because of the nature of the material, the organization remains consistent throughout all: regional overviews first; music in the social context next; then finally, the musical traditions of individual countries or ethnic groups. Of exceptional value are the resource guides, extensive bibliographies, and photographs.
The Rough Guide to World Music is an excellent reference work on sounds from around the globe. It includes articles on more than 60 countries from Albania to Wales and Afghanistan to Vietnam, focusing on popular and roots music.
Volume 1: Africa and the Middle East
Volume 2: Europe and Asia
From custom and conception, through craftsmanship and construction, to playing and performance, The New Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments is the definitive guide to musical instruments from around the world. Covering over 12,000 musical instruments, it describes each instrument individually and in the context of instrument families. Charting the history, development, musical function, and intercultural links of each instrument, this is the most comprehensive collection of information on the topic. It also explores the cultures, societies and religions which have created these instruments and the various extra-musical functions of certain instruments.
Geographic Region Encyclopedias
Learn more about the country you're studying with these encyclopedias about different geographic regions.
Presents the cultural similarities within a country that set it apart from others by examining over 200 countries to document the myriad ways in which culture defines and separates the nations of the world as much as geographical borders do. Surveys each country's shared values, behaviors and cultural variations from foods and rituals to pastimes and arts, using a standard entry format for easy comparison. Provides illustrations, photographs and maps. 4 volumes.
10-volume set that lists and describes more than 1,500 global cultures.
Source for historical, social, political, economic, linguistic, religious, and other information on virtually every existing culture.
Provides a comprehensive, multidisciplinary view of Latin American history and culture from prehistoric times to the present. Covers cultural issues and includes numerous biographical profiles of important figures in politics, letters and the arts.
This is the online version of a massive, 16 volume encyclopedia to modern Europe (1450-present). It provides extensive background information on each country of Europe along with all major topics of European history and culture.
Provides a comprehensive discussion of Russia's people, politics, economics, religion, and social systems; and is designed to complement the study of comparative politics, world history, geography, literature, arts and culture and world cultures. Entries span the period from the earliest beginnings of the Russian nation to the rise and fall of the Soviet Union.
A 6-volume survey of modern Asia, defined as extending from Japan in the east to Turkey in the west, and from Kazakhstan in the north to Indonesia in the south. Presents entries covering such subjects as countries, cities, regions, natural features, religions, social issues, languages, people, events, customs, politics, and economics.
One of two new multi-volume encyclopedias on China published in 2009 (firsts of their kind!), greatly expanding the available resources for student research on China. This historically oriented encyclopedia includes topics that "span the spectrum of China’s history, culture, and society from 1800 to the present".
Covers the modern history of the Middle East and North Africa, with major sections on Colonialism and Imperialism, the World Wars, the Israeli-Palestinian conflict and the United Nations involvement in the region. Each country in the region is reviewed, detailing its population, economy and government.