Academic Search Ultimate is our largest single comprehensive database. It includes records for some 40 million items, with 25+ million immediately available in full-text. It covers all subject areas and includes newspapers and other news sources, general and specialized magazines, and scholarly journals. It is an excellent starting place for most undergraduate research.
Access from on campus or off campus with Ship ID.
Contents indexed in Ship Library Discovery Search.
Library database that covers the most important and controversial issues of the day. Contains the full text of CQ Researcher, a weekly publication. Each issue provides a comprehensive overview and background essay, data tables and graphs, chronology, pro-con starter, and list of major research and advocacy groups. Includes extensive lists of sources and hot-linked footnotes throughout.
One of the most comprehensive news databases in the world, ProQuest Global Newstream includes access to over 3000 news sources, including 2,200 newspapers, as well as blogs, podcasts, websites and news wire feeds worldwide.
Development note - alt link use stats: (91 total hits, 33 since 7/2012 -- 10 /2012)
Adjusting to college concerning meeting new/other people: how has racism or stereotyping affected you? How has it been difficult, and why is it so difficult to change our views? What are some ways you can adjust your attitudes? What solutions does SU offer, or should it? How do colleges both exacerbate and try to alleviate these issues?
Pressures of college concerning its “value”: is a 4-year degree always worth it? Do we need to change our educational system? How? Is college for everyone, and if not, do we have enough ways for people who do NOT want a college degree to be successful?
Pressures of college concerning stress how that affects success; perhaps tied in to how we deal with and treat mental illnesses (if you want to move away from college, you might look at how mental illness intersects with issues of access to guns; in other words, “guns” isn’t the paper topic but a subset of how stress and mental health might be areas to examine concerning control to access)