It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Creative Review has documented commercial talent across the globe (encompassing: commercials, publishing, graphic design, typography,illustration, new media, film & photography to name but a few); it’s considered a premiere title by professional creative communicators around the world.
Representations publishes sophisticated, highly readable essays on the workings of culture, both past and present. Long known for its innovative essays on art, intellectual and legal history, science and gender studies, theories of history, and literary phenomena such as authorship and national and ethnic canon formation, Representations’ reach currently extends as well to such topics as the history of the emotions, national identity, new media, and the renewal of aesthetics in criticism.
The Journal of Aesthetic Education (JAE) is a highly respected interdisciplinary journal that focuses on clarifying the issues of aesthetic education understood in its most extensive meaning. The Journal thus welcomes articles on philosophical aesthetics and education, to problem areas in education critical to arts and humanities at all institutional levels ; to an understanding of the aesthetic import of the new communications media and environmental aesthetics; and to an understanding of the aesthetic character of humanistic disciplines. The journal should is a valuable resource not only to educators, but also to philosophers, art critics and art historians.
The world's largest book database, WorldCat serves as a shared library catalog for 25,000+ libraries worldwide. Contains links to books, periodical titles, videos, internet resources, and other cataloged resources in libraries. It also contains selected collections of periodical articles. Access from on campus or off campus, with no ID required.
Art & Architecture Source covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. Providing over 600 full-text journals, more than 220 full-text books, and a collection of over 63,000 images, it is designed for use by a diverse audience, including art scholars, artists, designers, students and general researchers.
JSTOR is our most comprehensive interdisciplinary archive of scholarly journal articles. For each journal included in JSTOR, it includes the full-run of the journal, from its beginning up until the most recent 3-5 years. Covers a wide variety of subjects such as history, literature, biology, business, and African-American studies.
Academic Search Ultimate is our largest single comprehensive database. It includes records for some 40 million items, with 25+ million immediately available in full-text. It covers all subject areas and includes newspapers and other news sources, general and specialized magazines, and scholarly journals. It is an excellent starting place for most undergraduate research.
Access from on campus or off campus with Ship ID.
Contents indexed in Ship Library Discovery Search.
Sources for Basic and Background Information in Art and Related Fields
Oxford Art Online is a comprehensive encyclopedic source for art information. It includes access to the essential Grove Dictionary of Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and other sources. With its extensive articles, images, and bibliographies, it serves as the most important starting point for art research.
Featuring 600 original articles written by leading scholars, The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt goes far beyond the records of archaeology to make available what we know about the full social, political, religious, cultural and artistic legacy of this 5,000-year civilization.
Spanning almost one thousand years, from the first Olympic Games in 776 BC to the death of Marcus Aurelius in AD 180, this accessible and wide-ranging reference work draws on the groundbreaking Oxford Classical Dictionary to present more than 2,500 entries on the civilizations of ancient Greece and Rome. Covers key aspects of ancient Greek and Roman life and literature. Contains comprehensive articles on central figures, both real and mythological.
This dictionary provides rich detail on all aspects of the Renaissance in 14th to 17th century Europe. Includes comprehensive coverage of the art, literature, science, culture, philosophy, religion, economics, history, & conflict of the period. Explores the influence that this intense intellectual & cultural revival continues to have on modern thought & society. Nearly half the entries are biographical.
Profiling milestones and movements in the arts, literature, music and religion from a specific period, each volume in this set helps students and researchers understand the various disciplines of the humanities in relation to each other, as well as to history and culture. An overview of the period and a chronology of major world events begin each volume.
Umbrella is the most comprehensive online quarterly covering the arena of artists’ books, art books and other multiple editions, including audio and new media. Freely accessible Arts & Humanities Journals