It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This is one of the most important sources of significant speeches. Published monthly since 1934, the full text of each issue of the publication is available, including 17,000+ speeches. Enter in a second search box a rhetor's name or the keywords for a topic in which you interested.
This two volume print set indexes thousands of speeches that have been published in over 400 book collections, through the year 1980. It is indexed by speaker, genre, and topic. An excellent source for older material. If we don't own the specific book collection you need, it is easily available to borrow through WorldCat.
One of the most comprehensive news databases in the world, ProQuest Global Newstream includes access to over 3000 news sources, including 2,200 newspapers, as well as blogs, podcasts, websites and news wire feeds worldwide.
Development note - alt link use stats: (91 total hits, 33 since 7/2012 -- 10 /2012)
Westlaw is a legal database that includes secondary and primary legal sources. It contains statutes, codes, arbitrations, and case law. Westlaw also includes the legal encyclopedias, journals, treatises, and law reviews. Also includes public and private business information and coverage of news and broadcast information sources.
This is the official source for all presidential documents, including many, many speeches. Online texts are available from 1993 to the present. These documents are then compiled in the Public Papers of the Presidents.
The official compilation of presidential papers, based on the Weekly Complilation of Presidential Documents. The years 1991-2010 are now available online. See a librarian for more details concerning early volumes.
Everyone dreads public speaking. But Phil Collins, former Chief Speech Writer to Tony Blair, knows that it doesn't have to be this way. We all tend to worry so much about how we're presenting, and not enough about what we're presenting. The secret to memorable, polished speeches is to think more about the material you're presenting. When the content's right, the confidence will follow. In The Art of Speeches and Presentations Phil Collins provides you with a concise set of tools, preparing you for any speaking occasion. Ranging from the ancient history of rhetoric to what makes Barack Obama such a good speaker, and packed with practical examples and tips, the Art of Speeches and Presentations is set to become the definitive guide to great speeches and presentations.
American Political Rhetoric is the only reader for introductory classes in American politics and government and political communication designed to explore fundamental political principles through classic examples of political rhetoric, from the Declaration of Independence to today. Selections include the entire political spectrum and contributors range from the founders to elected public officials, Supreme Court opinions, and representatives of historic movements for social change. Organized thematically, American Political Rhetoric allows students to explore the institutions of government and current controversies in civil rights, race, gender, and America's role in the world as the issues have evolved over time.
Considers how traditional approaches such as cohesion and classical rhetoric may be integrated with 'critical' approaches to discourse analysis such as critical metaphor analysis. Presents a range of critical and discourse theories and considers the relationships between linguistic features of speeches and their social and cultural contexts.
Based on a selection of 30 election campaign speeches during Obama's first run for the American presidency in 2008, this book investigates the Democratic presidential candidate's much celebrated rhetoric from a cognitive semantics point of view.
Political Communication provides a comprehensive, clear, and accessible treatment of American campaign rhetoric. Taking a truly communicative approach to political communication, the text explores campaigns in terms of their management and message orientation and focuses on communication strategies as regards speeches, debates, and the use of paid and free media (e.g., print and broadcast ads; the Internet; etc.). Case studies of actual campaign speeches, political debates, and mass media campaigns show the application of theories and methodologies.
Presidential Campaign Rhetoric in the Age of Confessional Politics analyzes the religious-political discourse used by presidential nominees from 1976-2008, and then describes key characteristics of their confessional rhetoric that represent a substantial shift from the tenets of the civil-religious contract. This new confessional political style is characterized by religious-political rhetoric that is testimonial, partisan, sectarian, and liturgical in nature. In order to understand why candidates have radically adjusted their God talk on the campaign trail, important religious-political shifts in American society since the 1950s are examined, which demonstrate the rhetorical demands evangelical religious leaders have placed upon our would-be national leaders.
Call Number: Gale Virtual Reference Library: Essential Primary Sources
Publication Date: 2006
These volumes of primary source documents focus on leading social issues of the 19th, 20th, and 21st centuries. This volume is devoted to Gender Issues and Sexuality. Each title contains approximately 175 full or excerpted documents---speeches, legislation, magazine and newspaper articles, essays, memoirs, letters, interviews, novels, songs, and works of art---as well as overview information that places each document in context. Entries are organized into chapters that feature a general overview of the chapter's subtopic.
Library database that covers the most important and controversial issues of the day. Contains the full text of CQ Researcher, a weekly publication. Each issue provides a comprehensive overview and background essay, data tables and graphs, chronology, pro-con starter, and list of major research and advocacy groups. Includes extensive lists of sources and hot-linked footnotes throughout.
America: History & Life with Full Text is the definitive database of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With selective selective indexing for 1,700 journals from 1955 to present, this database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history. America: History & Life with Full Text also provides full-text coverage of more than 200 journals and nearly 100 books.
Academic Search Ultimate is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 10,021 full-text periodicals, including 9.017 peer-reviewed journals. This database offers indexing and abstracts and other publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Access from on campus or off campus with Ship ID.
Contents indexed in Ship Library Discovery Search.