The most important internet directory to academic resources for the study of theology and religion. It includes annotated entries for websites, electronic texts, electronic journals, bibliographies, image collections, and course syllabi. Created and maintained by Dr. Charles Bellinger, Theological Librarian at the Brite Divinity School.
This site is an important, highly selective directory of many of the most important websites related to the academic study of religion. Created and maintained by Saundra Lipton, a religious studies specialist at the University of Calgary Library, and Cheryl Adams, Religion Reference specialist at the Library of Congress.
The most important, freely available source of statistical information about religion. While the major concentration is on American religion, it is also and important source of international religion data. ARDA, as of July 2011, includes some 600 data files and features very a very accessible web interface.
This project, centered at Harvard University, is dedicated to researching the religious diversity of contemporary America and making quality information sources available to the public. This is an excellent starting point when beginning research on religion in the U.S., especially concerning religious groups outside the Judeo-Christian tradition.
An excellent source for finding web-accessible primary sources for the study of Christian theology. Also includes links and brief annotations for many other useful theological websites. Good starting point for students doing research on Catholicism. Created by librarian Elizabeth Knuth.
This excellent, highly selective guide, leads the serious researcher to an important collection of (mostly) freely available websites for the academic study of theology. Good starting point for students doing research on Protestantism, Catholicism, or other forms of Christianity. Created and edited by theology librarian Steve Perisho.