This important, scholarly journal publishes articles on the history of religions worldwide from ancient times to the present. It includes in-depth articles and scholarly book reviews and review articles.
This is the leading publication for feminist scholarship on religion. It includes articles on women in religious traditions worldwide as well as on all aspects of feminist approaches to religious studies.
This important scholarly journal is published by the major U.S. professional organization, the American Academy of Religion. It includes high caliber scholarly articles as well as a substantial book review section in each issue.
This important journal, published by the Divinity School at the University of Chicago features in depth articles and scholarly book reviews. Articles focus on Judeo-Christian topics, along with the philosophy of religion, while the extensive section of book reviews more fully covers the world of religion.
This scholarly journal is published by a major religious professional organization, the International Association for the History of Religions. It includes in-depth scholarly articles, in-depth "review essays", which are article length reviews of major books, and substantial book reviews.
Each issue includes in-depth scholarly articles on topics throughout all aspects of Christian history. This journal, published by the major professional association, the American Society of Church History, also includes an extensive section of book reviews in each issue, arranged in chronological order by topic, from the founding of Christianity to the present day.
This core journal, published by the Holy Cross Greek Orthodox School of Theology, features in-depth articles on the whole range of topics of interest to Orthodox Christianity, from Biblical Studies, to Byzantine history, theology, and orthodox Christianity worldwide, up to the present day.
One of the most important scholarly theological journals, the Journal of Theological Studies, published two times a year, covers a wide array of topics in Biblical Studies, Theology, and Church History. It features lengthy academic articles followed by a large section of book reviews.
This substantial journal in academic theology features articles on all aspects of Catholic theology, from the early period to the present. Published quarterly, each issue includes about 10 lengthy articles and a large section of book reviews.
This scholarly journal includes articles and book reviews on all aspects of Jewish history and life. It covers all time periods and places. Many issues have themes, ranging from 'Agriculture' to 'Bible' to 'Jewish Identity'.
Published since 1888, this scholarly journal from the University of Pennsylvania features in-depth academic articles on all aspects of Jewish Studies worldwide. Articles cover an incredible range of topics from Josephus to the Expulsion of the Jews from Spain, to Madonna's use of kabbalistic imagery in her music. Each issue also includes an extensive book review section, frequently featuring a comparative review forum on major works.
This very accessible journal provides scholarly articles on a wide range of topics dealing in Jewish Studies and their application to modern life. Articles also include short pieces of fiction and poetry as well as some book reviews. The publication appears to currently be suspended (last issues from 1996).
This helpful magazine provides an accessible means of being introduced to modern Bible scholarship. Articles, though popular in style, are generally written by leading Catholic Biblical scholars. Sections include "Biblical Update" - articles on specific books or themes; "Seers' Corner" - articles on specific biblical people or events; "The Biblical Landscape" - archaeological and cultural articles; and "What's Biblical About..." - showing the Biblical roots of Catholic practices and beliefs.
This freely available, scholarly journal is published by the Pontifical Biblical Institute and is one of the world's leading international journals of Biblical studies. It features highly technical articles on textual, linguistic, archaeological, historical, and theological aspects of Biblical study and interpretation.
One of two important publications by the American Schools of Oriental Research, one of the leading Near Eastern research institutes. It publishes articles on the whole range of archaeological topics related to the Bible. Articles are scholarly, yet written for a broader audience than those in the Bulletin of the Schools of Oriental Research (BASOR).
One of two important publications by the American Schools of Oriental Research, one of the leading Near Eastern research institutes. It publishes articles on the whole range of archaeological topics related to the Bible. The scholarly articles are more narrowly focussed and written in a more technical fashion than those in Biblical Archaeologist.
Published by the Catholic Biblical Association, this is one of the core academic journals in the field of Biblical Studies, whether Catholic, Protestant, or Jewish. Articles can be highly technical, with ancient languages, such as Hebrew and Greek, are written in their original characters, although English translations can often be understood from the context. Includes an extensive section of book reviews.
Published since 1946, this journal presents Biblical scholarship in an accessible format. Oriented toward clergy, seminary students, and the serious lay-person, articles emphasize the theological meaning of Biblical texts. Each issue includes main articles, usually on a specific theme, as well as "Between Text and Sermon" essays which demonstrate how to move from interpretation to proclamation.
Published by the Society of Biblical Literature, the leading U.S. professional organization for Biblical scholars, this scholarly journal is one of the core academic titles in the field. It features highly specialized articles and an extensive section of book reviews. Includes articles by the widest range of scholars, from all faith traditions and secular perspectives.
This scholarly journal publishes articles on all aspects of New Testament and its world, including textual, cultural, archaeological, linguistic and grammatical, and historical. Includes articles in various European languages and includes book reviews.
This important scholarly journal published research on all aspects of the role of Islamic law in society, from earliest times to the present. It covers Islam in Muslim and non-Muslim countries. It includes articles on islamic law in specific countries (i.e. Egypt, Morocco), particular Islamic scholars, historical topics, and current topics (i.e. Fatwas or the veil).
This journal explores the interaction between Islamic law and culture throughout the world, with a particular emphasis on this interplay in the modern West. Recent articles include topics such as: the political influence of Islam in France; the formation of an Islamic credit union in the state of Washington; and the differences between men and women in traditional Islamic traditions.
One of the most important English language scholarly journals on Islam, articles cover an extremely broad range of topics. It highly focussed articles cover historical topics (i.e. the role of mosques as educational institutions in medieval Syria; theological/religious (i.e. analysis of Sunni texts on divorce); social scientific (i.e. effects of globalization on specific contemporary Indonesia communities); literary and other areas. Each issues includes a large section of book reviews.
This fascinating, interdisciplinary scholarly journal explores the many themes of inter-religious encounter in the European Middle Ages. As an example, a combined issue from 2009 focussed on Medieval Spain, and included articles on astronomy as a "neutral zone" for cooperation; the image of "the Moor" in contemporary and medieval settings; and a study of Jewish, Christian, and Muslim women, among other articles.
This important journal is published by the Macdonald Center for the study of Islam and Christian-Muslim Relations, at Hartford Seminary. The purpose of the journal, founded in 1911, is to publish "scholarly research on Islam and Muslim societies and on historical and current aspects of Christian-Muslim relations".
This interdisciplinary journal brings together studies by scholars from the various humanities and social science fields. Articles explore various dimensions of buddhism as it is practiced worldwide, and the influence and interaction of Buddhism with the modern world.
This freely available scholarly journal, edited by Prof. Dan Cozort of the Dickinson College Religion dept., is devoted to the study of the ethical dimensions and implications of Buddhism. Use the tag cloud button to search by topic or the Archives button to browse specific issues.
This freely available scholarly journal is devoted to articles about a wide array of issues in contemporary Buddhism. Many of the articles focus on Shinshu Buddhism, the largest branch of Japanese Buddhism.
This new scholarly, interdisciplinary journal provides articles on a wide array of topics concerning ancient and contemporary hinduism. Article range throughout the humanities and social sciences in their scholarly perspective.
Popular Magazines and Commentary Publications in Religious Studies
This bi-weekly religious magazine has been an influential publication from the early 20th century to today. It broadly represents "progressive, ecumenical" Christianity (from website) in its articles on current news, politics, religion, and culture.
For 50+ years, Christianity Today has been the leading religious, political, and social commentary publication from an Evangelical Christian perspective. Many articles focus on living out the Christian faith in today's world.
This is the leading monthly commentary publication from a politically conservative Jewish perspective. It has major commitments to promote U.S. role as a proponent of Western civilization, and through its dedication to Judaism, the battle against antisemitism and defense of the State of Israel (from Website).
An independent, lay Catholic magazine, founded in 1924, is published twice-monthly, and features an independent Catholic, broadly liberal, voice on news, ethics, politics, religion, and culture. This publication is not easily pigeon-holed, with perspectives varying based on "the issue and the writer" (from Website).
This independent religious commentary publication addresses political, social, and cultural issues from a prospective of "broadly ecumenical and erudite social and political conservatism" (a nice description from Wikipedia). While it features, Catholic, Protestant, and Jewish contributors, it is a major source for commentary from the conservative Catholic intellectual tradition.
This freely available magazine is oriented to supporting the faith of the millions of Hindus living outside India. It carries articles on an array of topics about living as a Hindu in the modern world. Similar in approach to magazines such as Christianity Today or Islamic Horizons.
This religious magazine, published by the Islamic Society of North America, provides articles on all aspects of modern Muslim life and culture, from the perspective of mainstream North American Muslims. Serves as a Muslim equivalent to Christianity Today or U.S. Catholic.
NCR is the leading alternative Catholic publication in the U.S. Edited by lay people, this biweekly news publication provides reports on news, politics, and relgious and cultural issues from a broad, ecumenically informed Catholic perspective. It is a leading source for dissent and criticism within the Catholic perspective.
Sojourners is the leading voice of progressive and more liberal perspectives within evangelical Christianity in the U.S. The specific mission of the publication is to articulate the Biblical call to social justice and empower faith communities to respond to that call.
Tikkun is an alternative commentary publication from a Jewish perspective. Originally created as a progressive alternative to "Commentary", it approaches political, social, religious, and cultural issues from a broad ecumenical perspective committed to the needs of the poor and oppressed.
This is a leading monthly catholic national magazine, sponsored by the Claretian order, with articles on Catholic faith, life, and cultural and political issues. It largely represents mainstream American Catholicism, with a strong emphasis on living out Catholic faith in America.