It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
One of two comprehensive reference sources for social work. This 4 vol. online encyclopedic handbook provides chapter length essays. The volumes cover: The Profession of Social Work; Human Behavior in the Social Environment; Social Work Practice; and Social Policy and Practice. In particular, scan the chapters in the first volume to find your field of practice.
Publication Date: New York: Columbia University Press, 2014
This handbook examines not only risk and vulnerability factors in disadvantaged populations but also resilience and protective strategies for managing and overcoming adversity. This third edition reflects new demographic data, research findings, and theoretical developments and accounts for changing economic and political realities, including immigration and health care policy reforms. Contributors have expanded their essays to include practice with individuals, families, and groups, and new chapters consider working with military members and their families, victims and survivors of terrorism and torture, bullied children, and young men of color.
A contemporary look at social work practice and the many career possibilities--with detailed coverage of important new and emerging trends As the practice of social work continues to diversify, students need a clear picture of the current state of the field and an up-to-date source of information and guidance on emerging career opportunities. Social Work Fields of Practice provides both. Written by a team of experts in their respective specialties, this book features a comprehensive overview of contemporary social work practice, discussing historical trends and demographics, professional issues, ethics, and diversity for each practice area. Both traditional areas and new fields are considered from a variety of perspectives, including the clinical, ethical, cultural, legal, theoretical, and technological. Addressing the Council on Social Work Education's required competencies for accreditation (EPAS), Social Work Fields of Practice contains pedagogical features such as Key Terms, Review Questions for Critical Thinking, and Online Resources.
Transformative Social Work Practice: A Meta-Framework Approach covers common areas/populations most often treated by social workers, such as: health, mental health, addictions, schools, family, and community violence, with an emphasis on ethically driven, evidence based practice and the promotion of advocacy and social justice. The book also highlights technology and web based content. Each chapter applies cases and vignettes for illustrative purposes and covers micro, mezzo and macro forms of practice.
Publication Date: New York: Oxford University Press, 2015
This Second Edition of the Handbook addresses the evolving interdisciplinary health care context and the broader social work practice environment, as well as advances in the knowledge base which guides social work service delivery in health and aging. This includes recent enhancements in thetheories of gerontology, innovations in clinical interventions, and major developments in the social policies that structure and finance health care and senior services. In addition, the policy reforms of the 2010 Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act set in motion a host of changes in theUnited States healthcare system with potentially profound implications for the programs and services which provide care to older adults and their families.In this volume, the most experienced and prominent gerontological health care scholars address a variety of populations that social workers serve, and the arenas in which they practice, followed by detailed recommendations of best practices for an array of physical and mental health conditions. The volume gives special attention to diversity, health care trends, and implications for practice, research, and policy.