INT300 - Botteron

A key compendium of basic statistical data on each country of the world, compiled by the CIA.

Extensive current background information on most countries of the world. Link starts a search in Business Source Complete - Simply type your country name in a blank search box.

Times Topics Country pages organize New York Times articles by country. Each Country page has a custom search box to search within the articles included on the Country page.
NOTE: type your country name in the search box - the Times Topics page for your country will be the first item in the result list (i.e. Times Topics: Nigeria)

Brief but current information on each country of the world - produced by BBC Monitoring, one of the most important sources of worldwide news information.

This comprehensive political handbook includes extensive information on the political systems of every country in the world.

Use this website from the U.S. Dept. of State to see if there are any travel warnings and restrictions in relation to your country.

Presents the cultural similarities within a country that set it apart from others by examining over 200 countries to document the myriad ways in which culture defines and separates the nations of the world as much as geographical borders do. Surveys each country's shared values, behaviors and cultural variations from foods and rituals to pastimes and arts, using a standard entry format for easy comparison. Provides illustrations, photographs and maps. 4 volumes.

Provides information about major world developments from 1750 to the present, with close attention to social, economic, cultural, and political topics. Contains articles on world events; countries; organizations; regions; ethnic groups; and themes such as social history, demography, family life, politics, economics, religion, thought, education, science and technology, and culture. Includes bibliographies, images and maps.

10-volume set that lists and describes more than 1,500 global cultures.
Source for historical, social, political, economic, linguistic, religious, and other information on virtually every existing culture.

Comprehensive book-length handbooks to each country of the world. Although some are considerably out-of-date, these Country Studies still provide helpful, detailed background information.

This excellent dictionaries contain a comprehensive dictionary of important terms, places, people, events, concepts, etc., typically in 1-2 paragraphs. This is useful looking up basic information on topics with which you are not yet that familiar. Each dictionary includes and extensive bibliography of sources.

This is the online version of a massive, 16 volume encyclopedia to modern Europe (1450-present). It provides extensive background information on each country of Europe along with all major topics of European history and culture.

Provides a comprehensive discussion of Russia's people, politics, economics, religion, and social systems; and is designed to complement the study of comparative politics, world history, geography, literature, arts and culture and world cultures. Entries span the period from the earliest beginnings of the Russian nation to the rise and fall of the Soviet Union.

A 6-volume survey of modern Asia, defined as extending from Japan in the east to Turkey in the west, and from Kazakhstan in the north to Indonesia in the south. Presents entries covering such subjects as countries, cities, regions, natural features, religions, social issues, languages, people, events, customs, politics, and economics.

One of two multi-volume encyclopedias on China published in 2009 (firsts of their kind in English!), greatly expanding the available resources for student research on China. It covers a wide range of topics including: Arts and Culture; Geography and Environment; Governance; Language and Learning; Organizations with a China Focus; Science, Technology, and Medicine; Society and Social Welfare; Values and Worldview.

One of two new multi-volume encyclopedias on China published in 2009 (firsts of their kind!), greatly expanding the available resources for student research on China. This historically oriented encyclopedia includes topics that "span the spectrum of China’s history, culture, and society from 1800 to the present".

A 4-volume survey of the history, cultures, geography and religions of India from ancient times to the present day. Includes more than 600 entries, arranged alphabetically.

This one volume historical dictionary provides the student researcher with excellent brief articles on the whole range of topics relevant to the history of Pakistan. It concludes with an substantial (41 pages) bibliography of English language books and articles about Pakistan - arranged in broad topical sections.

This one volume historical dictionary provides the student researcher with excellent brief articles on the whole range of topics relevant to the history of Iran. It concludes with an extensive (86 pages), topically arranged bibliography of English language books about Iran.

Covers the modern history of the Middle East and North Africa, with major sections on Colonialism and Imperialism, the World Wars, the Israeli-Palestinian conflict and the United Nations involvement in the region. Each country in the region is reviewed, detailing its population, economy and government.

This is a monumental work of scholarship on the history and culture of Middle East, Caucacus, and Central and South Asia. Provides background information on life in Afghanistan, Iran & Iraq.

This one volume historical dictionary provides the student researcher with excellent brief articles on the whole range of topics relevant to the history of Iraq. It concludes with an substantial (27 pages), topically arranged bibliography of English language books and articles about Iraq.

This is a major, 5 vol. encyclopedia to the history and culture of Africa. It features essay-length treatment of topics, frequently with significant bibliographies.

Provides a comprehensive, multidisciplinary view of Latin American history and culture from prehistoric times to the present. Covers cultural issues and includes numerous biographical profiles of important figures in politics, letters and the arts.