In these 100+ topic guides created by the Ezra Lehman Memorial Library staff, you will find sources that introduce you to your topic and keep you up-to-date with links to news articles, research websites, journal articles, and research reports, with a focus on in-depth investigative journalism resources Journalist's Resource, ProPublica, Reveal: The Center for Investigative Reporting, and the Center for Public Integrity.
This very high quality web site, located at Harvard's Shorenstein Center on Media, Politics and Public Policy and sponsored by leading academic journalism programs, guides journalists and other researchers to find scholarly sources related to many of the most important topics in the news. Whenever the source is not available in full-text, use the discovery layer or library A-Z journal list to get library access to the article or to order it on interlibrary loan.
Library database that covers the most important and controversial issues of the day. Contains the full text of CQ Researcher, a weekly publication. Each issue provides a comprehensive overview and background essay, data tables and graphs, chronology, pro-con starter, and list of major research and advocacy groups. Includes extensive lists of sources and hot-linked footnotes throughout.
Search this site by your law/act name. When available, CRS reports will provide a very helpful overview of the bill, its legislative history, and other aspects.
Contains 400 subject entries and 200 brief biographies of key figures in the history of social work. Includes demographic changes from immigration, technology, the implications of managed care, faith-based assistance, evidence-based practice, gerontology, and trauma and disaster. Includes a comprehensive index and topical outline.
One of two comprehensive reference sources for social work. This 4 vol. online encyclopedic handbook provides chapter length essays. The volumes cover: The Profession of Social Work; Human Behavior in the Social Environment; Social Work Practice; and Social Policy and Practice. In particular, scan the chapters in the first volume to find your field of practice.
