A 6-volume survey of the history of Western thought and culture, presented through 700 alphabetically arranged entries. Each entry explores the origin, cultural interpretations, and historical themes of such subjects as beauty, love, feminism, diversity, and social capital, among many others.
When you search in Ship Discovery on a name, often the first entry will be for a Research Starter. This is a current biographical article about your person. Here you will find an academic biographical overview and references to subject's writings, biographies, and studies about the person.
Academic Search Ultimate is our largest single comprehensive database. It includes records for some 40 million items, with 25+ million immediately available in full-text. It covers all subject areas and includes newspapers and other news sources, general and specialized magazines, and scholarly journals. It is an excellent starting place for most undergraduate research.
Access from on campus or off campus with Ship ID.
Contents indexed in Ship Library Discovery Search.
Note on using Ship Discovery or Academic Search Ultimate: to find biographical materials about the person whom you are researching, type their name on the first search box row and the following search in the second search box row: interview* or biograph* or autobiograph*
This scholarly encyclopedia database includes a number of biographical reference tools as well a many scholarly encyclopedias with biographical articles.
Newspaper will contain lots of information on your topics and people. Two quick tips - for columnists and opinion influencers, in Advanced Search, search for them as an author. Obituaries are another useful biographical sources. In Advanced Search, search on their name and add a Document Type filter for Obituary.
Development note - alt link use stats: (91 total hits, 33 since 7/2012 -- 10 /2012)
