Library database that covers the most important and controversial issues of the day. Contains the full text of CQ Researcher, a weekly publication. Each issue provides a comprehensive overview and background essay, data tables and graphs, chronology, pro-con starter, and list of major research and advocacy groups. Includes extensive lists of sources and hot-linked footnotes throughout.
Academic Search Ultimate is our largest single comprehensive database. It includes records for some 40 million items, with 25+ million immediately available in full-text. It covers all subject areas and includes newspapers and other news sources, general and specialized magazines, and scholarly journals. It is an excellent starting place for most undergraduate research.
Access from on campus or off campus with Ship ID.
Contents indexed in Ship Library Discovery Search.
One of the most comprehensive news databases in the world, ProQuest Global Newstream includes access to over 3000 news sources, including 2,200 newspapers, as well as blogs, podcasts, websites and news wire feeds worldwide.
Development note - alt link use stats: (91 total hits, 33 since 7/2012 -- 10 /2012)
In these 100 topic guides created by the Ezra Lehman Memorial Library staff, you will find sources that introduce you to your topic and keep you up-to-date with links to news articles, research websites, journal articles, and research reports, with a focus on in-depth investigative journalism resources Journalist's Resource, ProPublica, Reveal: The Center for Investigative Reporting, and the Center for Public Integrity.
Finding Political Commentary Publications and Sources
There are many excellent ways to find articles in political publications. The links on this guide will help you to search select groups of political commentary publications. It includes links to groups of liberal, centrist, conservative, and religious commentary magazines. Just click the link you want and type in your search topic (i.e. "stem cell research") in a blank search box. To search individual titles, see the select group of political commentary magazines on the News Sources tab.
This link enables you do searches in a small group of conservative-leaning commentary publications, using Academic Search Ultimate. These include: American Conservative, American Interest, American Spectator, Commentary, First Things, Modern Age, National Affairs, National Interest, and National Review.
This link enables you do searches in a small group of liberal-leaning commentary publications, using Academic Search Ultimate. These include: American Prospect, Atlantic, Mother Jones, Nation, and The Progressive.
This link enables you do searches in a small group of (currently) centrist commentary publications, using Academic Search Ultimate. These include: CQ Researcher, National Journal, New Republic, NPQ: New Perspectives Quarterly, and Washington Monthly.
This link enables you do searches in a small group of religious commentary publications from Judeo-Christian perspectives, using Academic Search Utlimate. These include: America, Christian Century, Christianity Today, Commentary, Commonweal, First Things, National Catholic Reporter, Sojourners, Tikkun, and U.S. Catholic.
Custom Made Search Tools
High Quality Web Source Finder
Use this search tool to find high quality web sources for your research. You can limit by In-Depth Journalism, Newpaper Topic Guides, Science News, CRS (Congressional Research Service) Reports, and Web Directories. Please Note: Several ads will appear first in the results list.
Search Think Tanks
Use this search tool to find high quality reports from a selection of the most important think tanks. You can use tabs to restrict your search to Research-Oriented or Foreign Policy think tanks. Please Note: Several ads will appear first in the results list.
