uniE610 Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Historical Magazine and Newspaper Guide

Magazine and Periodical Indexes and Collections

American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection (1623-1912)

This database is a digitized full-text collection from the most comprehensive collection of American historical magazines and periodicals, The American Antiquarian Society in Worcester, Massachusetts. It includes thousands of titles on all topics. Topic areas include news, science, agriculture, religion, politics, homemaking, business and economic concerns, social issues (i.e. temperance, slavery), literature and the arts - as well as a many more. Although the end date 1912 is listed above, the vast majority of materials were published before 1880. The collection is in five parts and links to very helpful overview articles on the development of magazine and periodical publishing in each era are included below the titles.

Other Indexes and Databases

Full Text of Historical U.S. Magazines

  • Atlantic / Atlantic Monthly (1857-Present)

    One of America's oldest and most important magazines. It has primarily been a literary and commentary magazine, with commentary covering the whole range of cultural topics including politics, social issues, education, and many others.

    • The Crisis (1910-1972; 1993-Present)

    The oldest and longest tenured magazine focused on African-American topics. It is the official publication of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP) and was founded under the editorship of W. E. B. Dubois. While it always has played an important role in providing news and commentary related to racism and racial issues (i.e. lynching), through the years it has expanded coverage of literature, the arts, and other topics.

    Newspaper Databases and Digitized Collections

    Full Text of Historical U.S. Newspapers

    Full Text of Historical British Magazines and Newspapers