A comprehensive resource for communication research. Communication Source was developed from a merger of Communication and Mass Media Complete and Communication Abstracts (formerly published by Sage), and includes many unique sources not previously available in other databases. Communication Source offers abstracts and indexing as well as full-text content from publications worldwide pertaining to Communication, Linguistics, Rhetoric and Discourse, Speech-Language Pathology, Media Studies and other fields relevant to the discipline.
Covers the primary professional literature of the communication(s) field.
Contains abstracts of articles, books and audio materials, as well as bibliographic records.
A group of a population that, while part of the dominant culture in some respects, has some important differing characteristics that make it other or separate.
Discipline that studies the ways in which people live, think, and express themselves in everyday practices and contexts. There is typically at least an undertone of social engagement.
"Cultural Studies." International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences. Ed. William A. Darity, Jr. 2nd ed. Vol. 2. Detroit: Macmillan Reference USA, 2008. 198-201. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Web. 11 Feb. 2015.
Process with which cultural artifacts are created and consumed. In a Cultural Studies context often considered as part of the idea construction process and involving power structures.
Creator encodes document with own cultural perspective- disseminates- audience decodes based on their own meaning- making
