Skip to main content

Organizing and Citing Your Research

Getting Started

To install the Zotero plugin to your Firefox Browser and to create a free online account go to Zotero.org 

Install the Word plugin to add citation tools to Word so that you can easily cite your references.

Zotero

zotero logoZotero - www.zotero.org

Zotero [zoh-TAIR-oh] is a Firefox browser add-on which allows you to collect citation information into a database. 

It is necessary to create an account on Zotero.  Your collected resources are stored on your web account. You can then access your library of resources from any computer with Zotero added to the Firefox browser.

Zotero collects all your research in a single, searchable interface. You can then add PDFs, images, audio and video files, and snapshots of web pages you have cited.  Zotero allows you to add notes to the item records.  Bibliographies can be created, as well.

Using Zotero at Ship

Zotero adds citation information by connecting to database software and creating an item record.  After an item record is created in Zotero, attach a PDF copy of an article, add a note, etc.  Following are comments on Zotero's ability to work with popular databases used at Ship:

  • EBSCOhost - all databases - will download the citation of an article.  Copy and paste the "Permalink" URL which will later link back to the article.  Or download the article PDF and attach it to the Zotero item created.
  • ProQuest - all databases - does not download citation. However, use ProQuest's "Export" to Reference Manager to create an item in Zotero.  Then "Save" the article and attach it to the Zotero item.
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library - does not download citation. However, use "Citation Tools" to export to Reference Manager to create an item in Zotero.  Then "Download" the article and attach it to the Zotero item.
  • Wilson Web - Biography Reference Bank - does not download citation.
  • Oxford Reference Online - does not download citation.
  • LexisNexis - does not download citation.
  • JSTOR - will download the citation of an article.  Download the article PDF and attach it to the Zotero item created.
  • Project Muse - will download the citation of an article.  Download the article PDF and attach it to the Zotero item created.
  • Worldcat - will download the citation of a book.  Copy and paste the call number, summary, table of contents, or other notes into the Zotero item created.
  • EBSCOhost Ebook Collection - will download the citation of a book.  Copy and paste the "Permalink" URL which will later link back to the book.