Skip to Main Content

Counselor Education and Supervision Doctoral Program

Encyclopedias and Handbooks

Sage Reference and Academic Books (Sage Knowledge)
This database includes 5,000+ scholarly ebooks, handbooks, and encyclopedias published by Sage. A major source for background information and research methods in the social sciences.

Sage Knowledge (Counseling & Psychotherapy)
This link browses and lets you search the counseling and psychotherapy subset of Sage Knowledge.

Individual Counseling Reference Sources

The SAGE Encyclopedia of Marriage, Family, and Couples Counseling (2017)
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Theory in Counseling and Psychotherapy (2015)
The Sage Encyclopedia of Multicultural Counseling, Social Justice, and Advocacy (2023)
Handbook of Multicultural Counseling, 4th ed. (2017)
Handbook of Counseling (2001)
Although now over 15 years old, this extensive handbook still has value for its comprehensive overview of the field in 44 individual chapters.
Handbook of Counselor Preparation: Constructivist, Developmental, and Experiential Approaches (2011)

Specialized Sources

SAGE Handbook of Social Studies in Health and Medicine (2022)
This handbook has key chapters on the social aspects of trauma and racism-related issues.
SAGE Handbook of Domestic Violence (2021)

Last Updated: Aug 14, 2025 10:38 AM
URL: https://library.ship.edu/counseling-doctoral
Print Page

Subjects: Counseling

Contact the Ezra Lehman Memorial Library

Lehman Library 1871 Old Main Drive Shippensburg, PA 17257 Phone: (717) 477-1465 SMS: (717) 496-4552 Email Us Library Suggestion Box