This comprehensive work on world food includes extensive historical essays on the development of food in all the world's regions, lengthy essays on the major food products, and a comprehensive dictionary of worldwide food.
This comprehensive four volume encyclopedia (2011) has over 150 entries on the food cultures of countries from every continent. Each entry covers the major foodstuffs, cooking practices, typical meals, restaurant culture, role of food in special occasions, and dietary health concerns of a specific country. The average entry is 25-30 paragraphs long and includes one or two recipes of the nation as well as 5-6 references to secondary sources. It is an excellent and detailed source of information on international cuisine and eating habits.
This excellent three volume scholarly encyclopedia explores the topic of food worldwide and "documents the act of eating from the perspectives of cultural history, nutrition, ethnicity, religion, psychology, anthropology, geography, economics, and aesthetics."
This is an extremely comprehensive encyclopedia covering a wide range of food issues. The array of coverage includes: agriculture and food industries, consumer practicies, nutrition and health, the environment, food regulation and government policies, trade, hunger and poverty, media portrayals, and marketing and advertising.
Covers the significant events, inventions, and social movements in American history that have affected the way Americans view, prepare, and consume food and drink. Articles treat regions, people, ingredients, companies, advertising, historical eras, holidays and festivals, and political, scientific, and economic currents pertinent to American cuisine.