It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The CQ Researcer is a unique weekly news magazine in which each issue of the magazine is on an important controversial issue of the day. Each issue provides a comprehensive overview and background essay, data tables and graphs, chronology, pro-con starter, and list of major research and advocacy groups. Includes extensive lists of sources and hot-linked footnotes throughout. In particular, the pro-con and contacts sections are very important for getting information on differing points of view about the controversial issue.
In these 100 topic guides created by the Ezra Lehman Memorial Library staff, you will find sources that introduce you to your topic and keep you up-to-date with links to news articles, research websites, journal articles, and research reports, with a focus on in-depth investigative journalism resources Journalist's Resource, ProPublica, Reveal: The Center for Investigative Reporting, and the Center for Public Integrity. Many topic guides have sections for Advocacy Organizations which will take differing points of view on your issue.
Academic Search Complete is our most important general research database. It contains over 30 million news, magazine, and journal articles on all subjects. To find different points of view, search on your topic, then try limiting to "Magazines". Many magazines provide commentary on issues from particular points of view.
Access from on campus or off campus with Ship ID.
Contents indexed in Ship Library Discovery Search.
One of the most comprehensive news databases in the world, Newstand provides "access to the full text of over 1300 newspapers, news websites and blogs from leading publishers throughout the world". To find different points of view, search on your topic, then filter your search by "Document Type". Click "More >", then choose "Commentary", "Editorial", "Correspondence" and "Letter to the Editor".
Development note - alt link use stats: (91 total hits, 33 since 7/2012 -- 10 /2012)
This is our most comprehensive search tool, including articles in news sources, encyclopedia articles, magazines, academic journals, as well as printed books, ebooks, videos and government documents.
Access on-campus or off-campus with your ShipID
Finding Political Commentary Publications and Sources
There are many excellent ways to find articles in political publications. The links on this guide will help you to search select groups of political commentary publications. It includes links to groups of liberal, centrist, conservative, and religious commentary magazines. Just click the link you want and type in your search topic (i.e. "stem cell research") in a blank search box. To search individual titles, see the select group of political commentary magazines on the News Sources tab.
This link enables you do searches in a small group of conservative-leaning commentary publications, using Academic Search Ultimate. These include: American Conservative, American Interest, American Spectator, Commentary, First Things, Modern Age, National Affairs, National Interest, and National Review.
This link enables you do searches in a small group of liberal-leaning commentary publications, using Academic Search Ultimate. These include: American Prospect, Atlantic, Mother Jones, Nation, and The Progressive.
This link enables you do searches in a small group of (currently) centrist commentary publications, using Academic Search Ultimate. These include: CQ Researcher, National Journal, New Republic, NPQ: New Perspectives Quarterly, and Washington Monthly.
This link enables you do searches in a small group of religious commentary publications from Judeo-Christian perspectives, using Academic Search Utlimate. These include: America, Christian Century, Christianity Today, Commentary, Commonweal, First Things, National Catholic Reporter, Sojourners, Tikkun, and U.S. Catholic.
Find Your Own Evidence from the Internet
High Quality Web Source Finder
Use this search tool to find high quality web sources for your research. You can limit by In-Depth Journalism, Newpaper Topic Guides, Science News, CRS (Congressional Research Service) Reports, and Web Directories. Please Note: Several ads will appear first in the results list.
Search Think Tanks
Use this search tool to find high quality reports from a selection of the most important think tanks. You can use tabs to restrict your search to Research-Oriented or Foreign Policy think tanks. Please Note: Several ads will appear first in the results list.